HELP! Speedometer keep resetting itself when engine starts!

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by BikerChick, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. BikerChick

    BikerChick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just replaced a new engine on my motorized bike. Now My speedometer kept resetting itself when engine starts. I'm stump! my old engine never had that problem.. Is there any remedy to this problem?? HELP!. Thanks

    I tried keep the speedometer wire from touching any of the clutch or throttle cable. It still reset itself when engine starts.. :-||:-||

    Naomi
     
  2. NunyaBidness

    NunyaBidness Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do a search with your very subject and you will find that you need to replace your spark-plug wire. I'm not sure on specifics about what wire is best but the threads you find will have that info.

    And welcome to the best site for motor bikes on the web.
     
  3. bitsnpieces

    bitsnpieces New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. breno

    breno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    If my memory serves correctly I think someone said to use a magnecore type lead.
    But if failing that see if you can find yaself a SIGMA branded speedometer they are a little more expensive but worth it Mine was $39 and its never skipped a beat after being wet, crashed on, left in the sun,etc.
    Remember to get yourself a leaded one when/if looking.
    I wasted a whole lot of time and money once before trying just about everything and I can tell ya now save yourself the headache and get a good quality one its just a PITA when ya try all this stuff and it doesnt work out.

    But in saying this I'd try the lead out ya can fit an 8mm one in but you might just need to shave abit of the insulaltion off so it goes back in the CDI. I superglued mine in but just a personnel preference thing I guess.
     
    #4 breno, Jan 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  5. BikerChick

    BikerChick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the excellent replies guys. :) I'll give that a try.

    Cheers,
    Naomi
     
  6. BikerChick

    BikerChick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put on a Bosch Resistor Cap.. voila. Problem solved.. I probably going to need a few more resistor caps. I think I know where to buy them.
    Cheers,
    Naomi
     
  7. NunyaBidness

    NunyaBidness Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    1
    Glad it's working for you now.
     

Share This Page