Has Anyone Used This Speedometer/Odometer From Schwinn ?

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by Catfisher, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. Catfisher

    Catfisher New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't want to spend a lot, just get a basic idea of how fast I'm going. Limit here by law is 20mph, so I won't stress any brand much. I was wondering if anybody is familiar with this Schwinn inexpensive combo product.

    Schwinn 12 Function Bicycle Computer : Target

    .flg.
     
  2. BarelyAWake

    BarelyAWake New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Had one, gave it to a buddy when I remembered I had a GPS lol, it's a lil schizoid & not to be taken as "gospel" but will give ya a pretty good idea of your speeds (remember, the faster you go the more it'll be off), you may need a resistor plug like the NGK BPR6HS to keep it from freakin' out from the ignition's interference *shrug*

    For the money it's defo better'n nufin :D
     
  3. Tim_B_172

    Tim_B_172 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had one. It kept resetting, either from vibration or EMI from the plug wire. I use a Bell "Spin Fit" speedometer now and it doesn't give me too much trouble. Although when the battery is about dead it starts displaying crazy impossible speeds. according to that thing I was cruising around at 220 mph the other day! ...it may have been a little off. ;)
     
  4. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,308
    Likes Received:
    30
    They offer that same speedo in a wired or a wireless version. The wireless is much more prone to electrical interference than the one with a wire. I have three of them and they all seem to function good. I typically mount my CDI on the seat tube which keeps it and the plug wire further from the speedometer so maybe that and the fact that I try to keep the wire away from the clutch and throttle cable is why I haven't had reset problems. As for accuracy? They'll put you in the ball park on speed but I've found the odometer feature is really close.
    Tom
     
  5. broHSI

    broHSI New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought that exact speedo from walmart. It has worked flawlessly for 1500 miles
    with a 4 stroke motor.
    The speed is accurate too as checked against a GPS. You have to measure the
    diameter of your wheel to get your speed correct.
    My 26" x 2.25 front cruiser tire measured 26.5" and there is a chart in the instruction
    booklet giving the mm number to enter into the speedo.
    It will be 100% accurate if the diameter is correct as all it is doing is counting revolutions
    of the wheel.
    I have not tried one with a Chinese 2 stroke, you may have to get a resister plug and wire
    but seeing that it is wired you may not have a problem with interference.
     
  6. Cabinfever1977

    Cabinfever1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1
    I use that $10 wallyworld speedo, when its not resetting its working good,but you have to put the correct wheel number in.
     
  7. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thats all I use and I have never had a problem with them. I have one I have been using for three years and it still works great.
     
  8. Kevlarr

    Kevlarr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got one and the only thing I did was clean the contacts under the speedo head this spring. One thing you may have to do if you notice it turning off a lot and having big jumps in speed is slightly heat and bend the little locking tab up, that helped mine out a lot.

    I run the original plug, only replaced the plug wire because the boot broke after I'd installed the speedo, I don't have the pickup wire running that terribly far from the coil and it's always worked great.


    A little trick my buddy showed me on setting one. Use the actual wheel diameter chart in the instructions, put a dot of 3&1 oil on your tire, roll the bike forward (with your weight on the bike) until the dot hits the ground twice, measure between the dots, use the formula in the instructions and you'll have the true tire diameter.
     
    #8 Kevlarr, Jun 11, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2010
  9. Ted

    Ted New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Schwinn computer,,,,it's hanging on the wall,,it's a PITA compared to a Sigma when it comes to setting it up.
     
  10. Catfisher

    Catfisher New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, I'll keep looking while I make repairs to the bike.
     

Share This Page