Engine mount problem

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by psprat496, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. psprat496

    psprat496 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I was riding today and looked down only to see my engine swaying left to right about 1"1/2 each way. The way I mounted the engine is the usual. Drill a small hole through the frame and use the mount that came with the kit. But I don't think that this is enough. My friend got a kit (66cc Grubbee Angel fire) that came with a thicker bolt. Mine came with a thin one that is very flimsy and I guess not doing the shop. Should I just go to Home Depot and buy a thicker bolt to use?
     
  2. Venice Motor Bikes

    Venice Motor Bikes Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,228
    Likes Received:
    32
    Post a pick of what your mount set up looks like.
     
  3. GoFastBicycles

    GoFastBicycles New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you drill your hole to match the bolt.

    Adam
     
  4. psprat496

    psprat496 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its just a regular mount. Like the one that comes with all the kits.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. psprat496

    psprat496 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah the hole matches perfectly. It was actually a little to small.
     
  6. Venice Motor Bikes

    Venice Motor Bikes Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,228
    Likes Received:
    32
    It's hard to tell from the pic, but I can't see the head of the bolt??? did it snap off???

    One more thing... I don't know what that is between the mount & the frame, but get rid of it! (bolt the engine to the frame with out any cushions!)
     
    #6 Venice Motor Bikes, Apr 2, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  7. caprirs302

    caprirs302 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    First of all, those mounts don't come with "all of the kits." You have already weakened the integrity of your bike by drilling that hole through the frame. I suggest that you buy a better front mount. I use the one from sick bike parts, it only cost 15 bucks and has given me no problems.
     
  8. kla63

    kla63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    get rid off what ever that is on motor side !!!! get a washer ,lock washer , and another nut on to lock the other nut might help!!!.weld
     
    #8 kla63, Apr 2, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  9. stuartracing

    stuartracing New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never did like the bolt through the frame mount....I`m using the U BOLT front mount kit....Works perfect....
     
  10. Pablo

    Pablo Master Bike Builder & Forum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,658
    Likes Received:
    5
    The usual is to follow sage advice and not drill a hole in your frame and not always use what comes with the kit. I will just say always use good mounts..bf.
     
  11. corgi1

    corgi1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    2
    Could you show us how the back mount looks,we're missing the full imfo:confused:
     
  12. psprat496

    psprat496 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh I didn't notice the bolt didn't completely show up in the picture but it's there. I think I'm going to order a mount from Sick Bike Parts.
     
  13. psprat496

    psprat496 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I'm gonna place the order from the front mount with you guys this Saturday. How do I do about measuring the down tube width and engine stud width?
     
  14. psprat496

    psprat496 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the SBP Mount sturdy? Is there any sway in the engine at all?
     
  15. Pablo

    Pablo Master Bike Builder & Forum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,658
    Likes Received:
    5
    You can do it easiest with a caliper. Even a $2 plastic one. You can also measure the circumference and plug the number in here: Diameter Calculator

    Yes it's sturdy, we have sold 1000's now. Just make sure the bolts are seated, not bottomed in the engine case. No engine sway!
     
  16. psprat496

    psprat496 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok we'll I'm glad to hear that their real sturdy. I'm gonna go find my calipers and measure everything up and send in an order. Hopefully I'll be riding again by next week.
     
  17. Pablo

    Pablo Master Bike Builder & Forum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,658
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sweet. Thanks!
     

Share This Page