confused about spark plug cables

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by peppers, May 20, 2011.

  1. peppers

    peppers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wanted to put a differint end on my cdi so I went down to autozone and picked on a spark plug cable. I cut it in half inside there is insulation and inside of this is a black wire, if I strip away the black caseing of this wire there is some sort of white fiber inside and no metal wire at all.

    inside the cdi wire there is simply one single copper wire.


    So what is this white fiber and is it conductive? can I just twist it into the copper wire and have it work?
     
    #1 peppers, May 20, 2011
    Last edited: May 20, 2011
  2. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,301
    Likes Received:
    26
    What you have is resistance wire and what most auto parts stores sell today. Copper core wire is better than resistance wire for our little engines. There are some resistance wires that have been said to be as good but you won't find that at your local car parts place. If your kit supplied wire has a copper core, stick with it. If you want to go with resistance wire you'll need to look for a high performance wire intended for racing applications.
    The reason for resistance wire is to reduce or eliminate radio interference and in today's cars, to protect sensitive electronics from the RF interference from the high voltage leads (spark plug wires). The two can not be spliced together. In fact you should never try to splice a plug wire.
    Tom
     
    #2 2door, May 20, 2011
    Last edited: May 20, 2011
  3. peppers

    peppers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    well I guess the wire is something called "carbon trace" witch people are saying is not gonna work?
     
  4. ToxicAz520

    ToxicAz520 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    No answer your question you could put the copper wire into the end but the chanc of it workin is about zero. The conductive material in the cable that you got from autozone is the black wire you decsribed if you have the spark plug wire I think you have. The white fiber is just a figerglass like material to support that black wire that is really a carbon based to carry the current. This is in place to reduce the electronic emmision for todays cars. Some others may chime in but if you have the wire I think you got then this is why there is no copper wire.

    One question for you is why did you not just use the new spark plug wire cut to size with the boot attached? Just unscrew the old one from the cdi and screw the new cable in.
     
  5. peppers

    peppers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    can I unscrew the end of the spark plug cable and screw it into the orignal wire from the cdi?
     
  6. peppers

    peppers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    no but I can uncrimp the connector and crimp it too the old wire and I think that is what I will do.
     
  7. ToxicAz520

    ToxicAz520 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it wnt wrok as Tom said you should never try to splice or connect spark plug wires together
     
  8. peppers

    peppers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not, I am removeing the metal spark plug connector from the new wire and attaching it to the copper wire that is said to be superior to the carbon
     
  9. ToxicAz520

    ToxicAz520 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be best to go back to autozone and see if they have an high performance racing wire. Or get one from SBP or Pirtate Cycles.
     
  10. peppers

    peppers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not see how it would be harmful, am I incorrect? its a pretty simple connection involving one single wire
     
  11. ToxicAz520

    ToxicAz520 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should work if you strip the wire enough and crimp it yes it will work just put the boot back over it the protectit from hitting anything and short. I was writing my response slowly while eating dinner didnt see ur othe respones till after i finished writing mine.
     
  12. GearNut

    GearNut Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,105
    Likes Received:
    1
    The carbon core wire you got from Auto Zone will work just fine the way it is. There is really no reason to mess around with swapping the end terminal from the new wire onto the factory copper core wire.
    Yes, as 2door stated, "Copper core wire is better than resistance wire for our little engines."
    That would be for high performance applications.

    I mean no offense towards 2door.

    I can attest that it won't be enough of a difference for you to really notice.
    At best, staying with copper core, the engine may be a little easier to start on a freezing cold morning, but you won't see a serious power loss by switching.
    From an electronic perspective, carbon core wire helps protect the CDI box from transient voltages that naturally occur in a spark induced ignition system. A carbon core wire will actually help the CDI box last a little bit longer.

    The biggest reason why copper core wire is used by the factory is it is cheaper for them to buy than carbon core wire.
     
  13. peppers

    peppers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks but I already swapped out the connectors, since i have a wire crimper its very easy and I do occasionally ride in cold weather and any edge I can get there would be good. I have warmed the engine with a space heater before in order to get it to turn over, I've actually done that more than once.
     
    #13 peppers, May 20, 2011
    Last edited: May 20, 2011
  14. Nashville Kat

    Nashville Kat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page