Choke mods

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by cnodie1, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. cnodie1

    cnodie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok after nearly falling over on my bike while riding this morning (mostly due to my lack of coordination) as i was messing with the choke, i feel its time to develop a modification for the choke that allows you to control it from the handlebars. it would make cold starts so much easier. i have some ideas in my head and my staurday is free so im going to give it a try then but what do you guys think? any ideas? tips? im relatively new to MBs but not motors so im hoping to make something functional and rugged.

    I will post any pics of my developments this weekend!
     
  2. TerrontheSnake

    TerrontheSnake New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't imagine it being to hard just finding a way to attach a cable and springs, could ever take the choke off of a mower for the lever, but I think it is a great Idea and I have not seen that done on one of these yet.
     
  3. cnodie1

    cnodie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didnt even think of springs haha. And you are right I have looked through so many pictures of MBs on here and havent seen a choke mod
     
  4. psprat496

    psprat496 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that the CNS Carb has some type of handle bar mounted choke. Maybe you could get you hands on one of those and see how the choke works since everything else on that carb is probably useless.
     
  5. rockhopper

    rockhopper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do not choke the mods.
     
  6. cnodie1

    cnodie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    well you know sometimes you just wanna grab em and shakem around!!! lol i didnt think anyone would take the thread that way but...
     
  7. BarelyAWake

    BarelyAWake New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    4
  8. BarelyAWake

    BarelyAWake New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    4

    The "remote choke" for the CNS is actually just a single older style 10 speed shifter (small lever next to GPS);
    [​IMG]

    By drilling a small hole in the NT's choke lever & adding a spring and cable stop, any small shifter could easily be made into a remote choke actuator.



    Oh and BTW, my CNS works jus' fine thanks :D but FYI the choke itself is a internal plunger type, totally different than the NT's baffle style.
     
    #8 BarelyAWake, Apr 29, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2010
  9. TerrontheSnake

    TerrontheSnake New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    HeK yeah I didn't think about a shift lever. LoL its going on my bike no doubt, how friggin sweet. LoL
     
  10. Cabinfever1977

    Cabinfever1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1
    When you start your engine let the bike idle and warm for a minute then put the choke down,then take off and ride it, thats all there is to it.
     
  11. TerrontheSnake

    TerrontheSnake New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats true I never really have to mess with it once she warms up.
     
  12. cnodie1

    cnodie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not that much of a noob sheesh :D this is mainly for warm ups on the fly. Sometimes when Im running late to class and have no time to sit and wait.
     
  13. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,301
    Likes Received:
    25
  14. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    1

    Are you saying your choke is an enrichment circuit? I think you are.
     
  15. BarelyAWake

    BarelyAWake New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yup - also known as the "kill switch" for this 'un :D
     
  16. cnodie1

    cnodie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK so I slapped this together this afternoon and I am pleased with the results. Check it out! YouTube - Choke lever modification

    edit: the quality is very crappy right now but hopefully by tomorrow it will have fully processed so you can watch it in HD lol
     
    #16 cnodie1, May 3, 2010
    Last edited: May 3, 2010
  17. cnodie1

    cnodie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ill post up some pictures tomorrow when I get better light outside
     
  18. BarelyAWake

    BarelyAWake New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    4
    Nice (^)

    That's a sweet mod man, I love usin' the remote choke fer a kill switch too (aftermarket throttle has no button) and although a two stroke outa be fully warmed up before taking off - sometimes I'm jus' a lil too late for work for that and it's nice to be able to adjust the choke "on the fly" so to speak :D
     
  19. cnodie1

    cnodie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly!!!!
     
  20. billragland

    billragland New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have that carbureter and the choke control is not very attachment friendly. The choke cable is too short to reach the handlebars and I had to rig it ineffectively to the the large top bar on my Micargi bicycle. I am very interested in finding a handlebar choke control that will take the barrel shaped end of the cable for use on my new Dellorto carb.

    BB
     

Share This Page