carb ????

GoldenMotor.com

snobord28

Jun 2, 2010
Bakersfield
HI Im still new to this stuff I and had a question. I usually ride every day, I let her sit for 2 days and she feels a little different. like it doesnt like to 2 stroke very much and its a little less powerfull, but smoother. Im gonna clean my plug and check if that helps but the main question is, my carb used to drip gas from the bottom when off and I was ok with that. Now no more drips, of gas so am I not getting same amount of gas in bowl due to float mabye sicking or something? Thanks all

.shft.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
It is possible the float valve was being held open by trash and it finally flowed through. The float level can change due to hard bumps but that is rare, very rare. If the float is too high it might not allow full shut off of the needle valve but that too is not common.
These little 2 stroke engines are temperamental and can be effected by temperature, humidity and many other factors that might explain the difference in running conditions you described. You didn't say how much run time is on this engine but they tend to get better with age, like wine, and run stronger and more consistent the more miles they have on them.
Tom

snobord28

Jun 2, 2010
Bakersfield
I have about 3 1/2 gal down and I re-gapped plug it runs good, mabye not 100% Im not sure but good. I noticed at higher rpm's it kinda tops out(like a governer on a car) is that normal? seems like it could have more power somehow.Im gonna order a expansion chamber exaust soon mabye that will give me what im looking for. thanks all

Nashville Kat

Apr 20, 2009
Jacksonville, Florida
get a billet

A little tack and seal gasket seal works well on the screws to keep gas from dripping

generally I've found more oil helps carburetion- start on the high scale and then try thinning from there- better than blowing the engine with too thin.