Amsoil ratio question

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by borntofli, Aug 11, 2012.

1. borntofli

borntofli Member

I used to use amsoil in snowmobiles in years past and only had to mix at half ratio as other oils... worked great........

What ratio are you guys running w/ this in the china motors??? Regular oil calls for 32:1... So are you running 50:1?

2. JonD

JonD New Member

I'm new to these bike motors, but I've been a 2 stroke outboard boat motor mechanic for 12 years... You can lean out your oil mix a little bit with better oil but I don't know how much I would lean this motor out. The cylinder is very soft aluminum and built nothing as strong as a snowmobile which has steel sleeves that can take the wear of a leaner mix. I'm personally not going to go much leaner than 16;1 when my motor is broken in. These china motors don't burn much fuel so they won't use very much oil at all even if you do run on a rich mix.

3. Al.Fisherman

Al.Fisherman New Member

I was running 32:1...That was until all my bikes burned up in a house fire. I was going to go to 50:1, as many members do.

4. cmanns

cmanns New Member

from what I read here I'd run 32:1 or 40:1 after break in.

I don't have a china bay motor but my 33cc I ran with about 45:1 and now 32:1 ish and doesn't seem to run much cooler or hotter, just sounds more peppy and doesn't smoke as much.

5. biknut

biknut Active Member

I run Red Line synthetic 2 stroke oil. Red Line recommends 50:1, up to 100:1. I run it 50:1 because I live in a hot climate. After 2 years, and 2000 miles, I just removed a motor that was still running great. The only reason I changed it was because it was 48cc, and I wanted to go 80.

6. Goat Herder

Goat Herder Gutter Rider

You put a 80cc engine?:confused:

7. TheOtherChris

TheOtherChris New Member

I have two China girls and am running them hard (WOT commute to work)
    I run something between 40:1 and 50:1 and have not had a issue yet.