Loud engine

GoldenMotor.com

Jaycee604

Jan 31, 2022
Ive been building these bikes for a couple of years now. I realized one of my bikes is pretty loud at high speed. Sounds rough. And i can hear the reeds on the reed valve alot. I will list below what the engine has installed on it. Its a new engine i have built, so im thinking its breaking in and or it is not jetted right. There is some vibration when it gets louder too at higher speeds, but has great accereation and holds speeds good. Also really good up hills.

66cc 2 stroke
Case matched to cylinder
Not ported
G2 Reed valve with windowed piston
High performance cdi and magneto
Ngk br6hs plug
Cdh power high comp head
Mz65 clone on amazon with silencer (yes i know a real mz is better)
420h chain
Old style NT carb with after market cone air filter
New bearings

Greg58

May 1, 2011
Newnan,Georgia
Did you check for proper squish? Noise at high rpm sounds like the piston is tapping the head slightly. To test add a second head gasket and see if the noise is gone.

Reactions: Venice Motor Bikes

Jaycee604

Jan 31, 2022
Did you check for proper squish? Noise at high rpm sounds like the piston is tapping the head slightly. To test add a second head gasket and see if the noise is gone.
thats a good guess, squish gap is crucial but i dont have a battery powered caliper or solder. Kind of pricey to but both but i may have to. I will add a thin gasket and try it out. Dont you think if the piston was hitting that i would have seen marks on the piston or head? I took it off to check, looks fine. Its more so the reeds that are loud, followed by vibration

Venice Motor Bikes

Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles
Mar 20, 2008
Los Angeles, CA.