Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  

Sponsors



Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Electric Bicycle Forum > Electric Bicycles, Trikes and Recumbent Bicycles

Electric Bicycles, Trikes and Recumbent Bicycles Electric bicycles are quiet and efficient form of transportation for general commuting.


36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

Electric bicycles are quiet and efficient form of transportation for general commuting.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2009, 09:41 PM
grouchyolfart grouchyolfart is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wahiawa, Hawai'i
Posts: 267
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

Okay, so I've been reading other forums also. Being that I didn't sign up for any of them, I thought I'd ask here.

Someone has a "24 volt" brushed hub motor like the ones we've been using. According to the thread, some have been using up to 48+ volt battery packs with the 24 volt hub. This particular person is running a 36 volt SLA pack with his 24 volt hub.

So my question is, what do I need to do to be able to run a 36 volt battery pack with my 24 volt hub motor? Seems the hub motor runs fine with the higher voltage, but was wondering about the controller and throttle. Do I need to change these out for 36 volt units? Will it work with a 48 volt controller and throttle? These guys are getting up to 10 mph more speed by using bigger battery packs and I thought the option sounded pretty good. If it's workable, I'm going to switch motors and put the hub on my bike.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2009, 10:15 PM
OzzyU812's Avatar
OzzyU812 OzzyU812 is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: "the bog" NH
Posts: 248
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

It seems too risky for me to try it. I'd to 36v change the entire system to 36v.
48v controller wont work for anything less than 48v. Because when the controller sees there is not enough voltage it shuts down to protect batteries. Is my understanding. I accidentally blew my 24v controller I was thinking I could by a 48v one for future upgrades but it don't work that way.
__________________
DAX 80f
Slanthead
NGK B7HS
SBP performance wire
44T
Stock Exhaust
32:1 cheap oil
no port matching

30 mph uphill!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2009, 11:07 PM
deacon's Avatar
deacon deacon is offline
minor bike philosopher
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: north carolina
Posts: 8,122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

I ran a 36 volt battery pack through a 24 volt motor and it burned the wiring up. I did the same on a hub and it wouldnt do anything. the controller shut it down.
__________________
My posts have entertainment value only. A bike ain't yours till it has your blood on it. Then it owns you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2009, 10:21 AM
deacon's Avatar
deacon deacon is offline
minor bike philosopher
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: north carolina
Posts: 8,122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

I went out to test ride my improved 350 slow pusher bike and it won't go. The electric motor is frozen. Probably too much heat from trying to run pulling hills with not much help from me. I'm trying to decide now what to do.

I would love to pick up a 500 watt motor for my fast pusher setup. Then move the 350 from it to the slow pusher. Then move all that to a full size bike. Try to cut down on the problems associated with not enough pedal help from me as well. I have a 350 watt controller on the way so I guess I will rig it for the slow bike and get a larger one for the fast bike.

Back to ebay I suppose.
__________________
My posts have entertainment value only. A bike ain't yours till it has your blood on it. Then it owns you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2009, 08:06 PM
grouchyolfart grouchyolfart is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wahiawa, Hawai'i
Posts: 267
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

Okay. So being that the motor can handle 36 volts, it'd be a good idea to change out the controller and throttle to 36 volt units as well. Makes sense to me. OR........just keep things simple and quit messing around with what ain't broke. .....which makes even more sense. Thanks fellas.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2009, 10:34 PM
ZnsaneRyder's Avatar
ZnsaneRyder ZnsaneRyder is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deacon View Post
I went out to test ride my improved 350 slow pusher bike and it won't go. The electric motor is frozen. Probably too much heat from trying to run pulling hills with not much help from me. I'm trying to decide now what to do.

I would love to pick up a 500 watt motor for my fast pusher setup. Then move the 350 from it to the slow pusher. Then move all that to a full size bike. Try to cut down on the problems associated with not enough pedal help from me as well. I have a 350 watt controller on the way so I guess I will rig it for the slow bike and get a larger one for the fast bike.

Back to ebay I suppose.
I find that amazing that with only 350 watts you are able to pull hills so well, even if you did burn it out. A small gas engine struggles a bit, but even having more HP. Gotta love the torque of the electric motors!

It must be a very neat bike pusher. I wish I had electric on mine, but I gotta find a better source for batteries and a motor.

Have you considered mounting a temp probe on the motor to monitor temperature?
__________________
I'm crazy, and like it that way, I'm ZnsaneRyder

DIY BABY!!!

Bicycle Pusher Trailer completed! Pocket Bike wheel and #40 chain drivetrain!



Fight for rights of FL Motor Bicycle Riders!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2009, 11:38 PM
OzzyU812's Avatar
OzzyU812 OzzyU812 is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: "the bog" NH
Posts: 248
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZnsaneRyder View Post
I find that amazing that with only 350 watts you are able to pull hills so well, even if you did burn it out. A small gas engine struggles a bit, but even having more HP. Gotta love the torque of the electric motors!

It must be a very neat bike pusher. I wish I had electric on mine, but I gotta find a better source for batteries and a motor.

Have you considered mounting a temp probe on the motor to monitor temperature?
Electric motors don't have power curve. It more like a plateau. Its at max power all the time. You decide how how much power to give it with controller. Unlike gas to have to stay in the rpm's sweet spot.
__________________
DAX 80f
Slanthead
NGK B7HS
SBP performance wire
44T
Stock Exhaust
32:1 cheap oil
no port matching

30 mph uphill!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-03-2009, 05:25 AM
deacon's Avatar
deacon deacon is offline
minor bike philosopher
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: north carolina
Posts: 8,122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

the day before I burned out the slow pusher motor I had two 350 watt motors and pushers one slow one fast. Just before I burned up the motor I ordered a 350watt controller on line. It was cheap on ebay.

Then the motor blew giving me an excuse to get a 450 watt motor on ebay so now I have a 350 watt fast pusher and a 350 watt controller on the way. But I also have a 450 motor on the way. So now I guess I will get a bigger controller and just move the 350 watt motor to the old wheel.

I have a lot of bike parts laying around at the moment, so I'm going to build a couple of pure pedal bikes for my grandson and me to ride on the bike trail. My wife wants me to get a bike carrier for the car so she can drive us to the trail. She is all hot for me to teach him about life for some reason. Probably because his mom and dad are turning him into a materialistic wimp. Since he is too small to ride a real bike his education will have to wait. LOL.
__________________
My posts have entertainment value only. A bike ain't yours till it has your blood on it. Then it owns you.

Last edited by deacon; 06-03-2009 at 05:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:24 AM
Hysteresis Hysteresis is offline
Motorized Bicycle Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The North
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

As a rule of thumb if you double the voltage of your motor you are cutting it's operating lifetime in half. Motors do have power curves, found this on google it's a good tutorial on some DC motor characteristics.

D.C. Motor Torque/Speed Curve Tutorial:::Understanding Motor Characteristics
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2009, 07:24 PM
deacon's Avatar
deacon deacon is offline
minor bike philosopher
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: north carolina
Posts: 8,122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: 36 Volts Through A 24 Volt Motor?

I have to buy a new controller for the hub motor and I'm going to bite the bullet when I do and put a 36volt controller on the hub. I can get one on ebay and its the same price as the 24 volt. It might take me a while to get around to it, but I'm going to give it a shot I think.
__________________
My posts have entertainment value only. A bike ain't yours till it has your blood on it. Then it owns you.

Last edited by deacon; 07-17-2009 at 11:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
MotorBicycling.com