Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  

Sponsors



Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Motorized Bicycle > Motorized Bicycle General Discussion

Motorized Bicycle General Discussion All topics regarding bicycles with engines.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-23-2016, 04:19 PM
2door's Avatar
2door 2door is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 16,254
Default Re: plug wire

Who are you calling an "old timer" ? Isn't that 'Age Discrimination' ?

Tom
__________________
Age and Treachery Will Always Triumph
Over Youth and Skill & "Charlie Don't Ride"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-24-2016, 06:06 AM
bairdco's Avatar
bairdco bairdco is offline
a guy who makes cool bikes
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: living the dream in southern california
Posts: 6,273
Default Re: plug wire

Ha... by "old timers," I meant you guys who've been building these stupid bikes for many years now, and not the new guys who are just discovering the basic faults in them.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-28-2016, 09:32 AM
Dead66 Dead66 is offline
Motorized Bicycle Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Pawleys Island
Posts: 48
Default Re: plug wire

I have a PK 80 from Ozark Cruisers. The wire to the CDI seems to be formed into it as it was built, or at least glued in. Regardless, I am not looking to take it apart if I don't have to. But the boot has nothing more than a spring stuck up in it that is then attached to the wire. It certainly looks like a sorry way to do it to me.

Can I buy just another boot from auto zone and attach it in some way?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-28-2016, 09:37 AM
Dead66 Dead66 is offline
Motorized Bicycle Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Pawleys Island
Posts: 48
Default Re: plug wire

Also, I am trying to get this bike tuned up. Straight out of the box it runs, but it is not top notch. Up until yesterday it would sputter a good bit as I accelerated, then it would never get to really humming. It seemed to work best when I went to full throttle and then backed off just a hair. At that setting the motor sounded great and really hummed. But when I gave it full throttle it would sound like it sort of bogged down just a hair.

I threw away the chinese plug today and put in a NGK B6hs. I also changed the needle setting. It came stock with the clip on the third rung down. I moved it up to the second rung down from the top. Today it seems to sputter a lot less, but it does not seem to go as fast as it did yesterday.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-28-2016, 01:55 PM
bairdco's Avatar
bairdco bairdco is offline
a guy who makes cool bikes
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: living the dream in southern california
Posts: 6,273
Default Re: plug wire

To answer your first question, yes, you can buy a boot and the crimp from most auto parts stores. If you never made your own plug wire end, google it. There's a youtube video for it.

Second problem may be mixture (too rich, it sounds like.) Changing the needle setting, jet, or fuel to oil ratio might work.

Could be oil clogged pipe, oil soaked filter element, or..?

Or it just might be the break in blues and it'll go away on it's own.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-28-2016, 02:49 PM
Jim C Jim C is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Beach Calif
Posts: 189
Default Re: plug wire

I bought a NGK high performance plug wire hang plug cap. I installed it on the bike. I haven't started it yet. I bought some 40:1 True Fuel to start out with. My back is bothering me so I am not going to start it yet. The back should clear by tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-28-2016, 06:23 PM
Dead66 Dead66 is offline
Motorized Bicycle Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Pawleys Island
Posts: 48
Default Re: plug wire

Thanks for the help!

I installed a new boot on my new NGK plug today. But still not getting 100%. But I also managed to mix too much oil so I don't know if that is holding me back.

Meanwhile, while riding today my leg got wet so I looked down. The tube that is attached to the gas supply line had fallen completely out of the side of the Carb. I stuck it back in and got home. Upon inspection there seems to be nothing whatsoever that is to hold it in place. Is this right???

I don't mind continuing to work at it, but maybe I should just buy a nice carb and forget it?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-29-2016, 10:45 PM
bairdco's Avatar
bairdco bairdco is offline
a guy who makes cool bikes
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: living the dream in southern california
Posts: 6,273
Default Re: plug wire

The inlet is press fit in most carbs. Unless it's really loose, a light tap with a hammer should keep it in place. If not, a tiny bit of silicon should be a temp fix, or just get a new carb.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-29-2016, 11:06 PM
Cylon's Avatar
Cylon Cylon is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 225
Default Re: plug wire

JB weld my friend, its chemical resistant and will be a perm fix. Only use a little so you dont clog it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
MotorBicycling.com