Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  


Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Motorized Bicycle > Motorized Bicycle General Discussion

Motorized Bicycle General Discussion All topics regarding bicycles with engines.

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2013, 01:17 AM
darbyman darbyman is offline
Motorized Bicycle Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: australia
Posts: 27
Default Performance mod help!!

Hey, just order the NCY racing cable and cap , and I'm just wondering if anyone has had experience with one, because it looks like this cable attaches to the old on and doesn't that defeat the purpose of the performance cable?
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:16 AM
2door's Avatar
2door 2door is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 16,222
Default Re: Performance mod help!!

Are you talking about the spark plug wire? Is it a Chinese 2 stroke engine?

Most new CDIs have the original wire (high voltage lead) glued in. You'll have to dig around the wire before it will unscrew out of the CDI. Make sure you don't damage the threaded contact that will screw into the core or conductor of the new wire.

Age and Treachery Will Always Triumph
Over Youth and Skill & "Charlie Don't Ride"
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 09:17 PM
maniac57's Avatar
maniac57 maniac57 is offline
Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: memphis Tn
Posts: 4,486
Default Re: Performance mod help!!

If your part just attaches to the existing wire, it won't be much of an upgrade.
I'd still use the plug cap if it's better though.
I just grabbed a car wire, cut it to length and screwed it in.
Like 2door said, yours might be glued in but you can still replace it by carefully digging it out with a small pick. As long as you don't break the screw post in the CDI box, a new wire will screw right on.
If more is better, then too much is just enough.
If you can't afford it, build it yourself.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:35 AM
Huffydavidson's Avatar
Huffydavidson Huffydavidson is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: st.louis,mo.
Posts: 1,078
Default Re: Performance mod help!!

Some guy on Fea-bay selling a Red wire kit for like $29.99+S+H it 8.8mm gota nice boot on it but on the other end its got some goofy a$$ splice/Union /coupler for cutting back the stock wire. I guess you cut it back slip on and tighten it down by hand. Upgrade in performance NOT GONA HAPPEN. But if Reds your color buy it. LMAO
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 10:32 AM
crassius crassius is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,786
Default Re: Performance mod help!!

I replace the boots with NGK because the stock ones break & NGK doesn't break - I replace the wire if I need it to be longer - I see no 'performance increase' from doing this & I believe solid wire and zero resistance boots are about as good as it gets.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.