Newbie from Lancaster, PA

GoldenMotor.com

Onirus

Jun 19, 2013
Lancaster
Hey Folks,

I'm new to the idea of Motorized Bicycles but I'd like to dive head first into my first build.

I've been browsing a little here and there and I'm really excited.

My goals are to:

1) Build a Street Legal Bike for PA (and possibly other states)
2) One that is both Light & Sturdy
3) Mountable to the back or top of a vehicle

I've read a few other folks from PA have been able to make theirs legal by meeting the requirements in the MOMO factsheet, Subchapter J of Motor-Driven Cycles and Motorized Pedacycles, and by taking it to a Enhanced Vehicle Inspection Station.

Any recommendations as to where to start would be amazing.

What are peoples opinions on these bikes in regards to frame type, shocks, tire size, engine preferences, etc?

Looking forward to chatting with you all.

-Alex

zpt

Sidewinder Jerry

Dec 19, 2011
Rockwood, TN
There's two building philosophies: 1) Spend the money for a quality kit. 2) Buy a cheap kit then spend money up grading it. I personally prefer 4 stroke engines. My dealer is Staton Inc. I've got over 4500 miles on my kit with no problems so far. In our world lite isn't always a good thing. Steal frame bikes are less prone to cracking.

As for my bike I've got the only gas powered bicycle in the world that's shifts 5 gears automatically. There's very creative people here who can help you. Glad to see you want to keep it legal.

Last edited:

Onirus

Jun 19, 2013
Lancaster
Hey Jerry,

Thanks for the reply. I am mechanically inept. So this will definitely be quite a project for me. 4.5k miles on one motor is awesome! Yea I have lots of reading to do before I undertake this project. Ha... I don't even know where to start.

-Alex

Sidewinder Jerry

Dec 19, 2011
Rockwood, TN
With 4 strokes change the oil every 50 hours and clean the air filter every 10 hours, then about all you'll ever need to do is replace the sparkplug.

Onirus

Jun 19, 2013
Lancaster