Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  

Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Motorized Bicycle > Motorized Cruiser Bicycles

Motorized Cruiser Bicycles The beach cruiser has always been great bicycles to motorize. They just look good with a motor. Use this section to share and discuss about motorizing this classic.

Old 05-05-2011, 12:04 AM
Motorized Bicycle Newbie
Default Noob help - first build - so many questions

Ok s lets start by saying this is my first build

I have a schwinn phantom re issue

It's fully broken down and ready for powder coat

I have few questions that I have stumbled on after lurking for a few weeks
1. What type of crank and pedals do need , apparently there is some clearance issues?
2. Grubee , raw, etc what's everyones favorite kit
3. Brakes?
4. Tires? 26"

I want to learn from everyones mistakes because as a frequent forum visitor I understand the vast amount of knowledge you guys have

So please help me make the right decisions first

And please address any issues I might have left out

Thx in advance
Old 05-05-2011, 04:32 AM
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
Default Re: Noob help - first build - so many questions

1: Depends on frame size - you might need an extended crank on the left side to clear motor and exhaust. Won't know until you mock it up though. If you go with a pull start kit, you'll need to extend your right cranks considerably.

2: My fav kit is Raw (@ Products )- but that's just personal opinon. They're all relatively the same thing, dodge the red filter housing carbs (CNSv2) though. Biggest thing is find a reputable retailer that will stand behind their product with good customer service and a rocking warranty. If you see "Limited Warranty", run like ****, cause if you put gas in it it's void.