Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  

Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Motorized Bicycle Welcome Forum > Introduce Yourself

Introduce Yourself Meet & greet your fellow motorized bicyclists, make introductions and even find others in your area.

Old 04-19-2011, 09:39 PM
Motorized Bicycle Newbie
Talking Nell Lusso

Hi, Gus here, It appears that some on this site dont appreciate the good deals that Walmart have to offer. I for one believe the quality to be good and the price right. I'm very happy with my Beach cruzer I bought from Wally, and how it turned out.
I dont know if anybody else has done this or not, but to virtually eliminate the vibrations from the engine, I used strips of rubber between the mounting clamps and the bike frame, worked like a charm. Also, to help shim up extra space, cut half moon shapes from pvc pipe and place in between bike frame and motor mounts.
This is my first build, planning another one, using a lightweight aluminum frame with front and rear shocks. (also from Walmart) Comments are welcome.
I enjoyed building this first one, had some trouble withe the idler pully though. I believe i'll go with a jack shaft on the next one and eliminate the idler.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PIC_0352 (Custom).JPG (14.7 KB, 119 views)
File Type: jpg PIC_0353 (Custom).JPG (13.7 KB, 110 views)
Old 04-19-2011, 10:31 PM
Super Moderator
Default Re: Nell Lusso

Welcome to the forum, Gus. There're many who have built successful bikes from the big box stores. Target, K Mart and Wally's place offer some good deals on bikes. Yes, there are those who shun the less expensive Schwinn, Huffy and others and they have sound reasons but don't let that spoil your fun.