Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  

Sponsors

Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Bicycle Motor > DIY Home Built Motorized Bicycle (non kit)

DIY Home Built Motorized Bicycle (non kit) Post all about your home built rides here. Weedwacker motors, lawn mower engines ect. This area is for non kit builds

3.5 HP small lawnmower engine

Post all about your home built rides here. Weedwacker motors, lawn mower engines ect. This area is for non kit builds

Old 08-03-2008, 06:21 PM
Motorized Bicycle Newbie

Default 3.5 HP small lawnmower engine

Hi,
I am very new to this, but I recently picked up off the curb a simple push lawnmower, 3.5 HP. I would LOVE to put this on a bicycle of mine. The easier the better, but I have seen that since it is a vertical shaft, things become a little more difficult. I also have a stationary bike adapter thing (like the ones here: Stationary Indoor Bike Trainer - Kinetic by Kurt ) I can hook that up to the rear tire, and if I could somehow put power to it, it would be just like a friction motorized bike (I have been able to simply hook that stationary bike thing, and put a cordless drill to it, and rode around my driveway at about a walking pace, obviously too slow) Any suggestions oh how I could rig up this lawnmower engine? I know I am limited due to the shaft, but let me know!!! Thanks!
Old 08-03-2008, 06:26 PM
Super Moderator

Default Re: 3.5 HP small lawnmower engine

I have no ideal how to go about making a vertical motor work.

I will move this thread to the DIY forum.....you should get better help thier.
Old 08-03-2008, 06:32 PM
Motorized Bicycle Senior Member

Well, 1 idea I could see working is that you mount motor over the tire. you attach a wheel of some sort from a skate board and you run it on the sidewall. You just adjust the throttle on it and then blammo you are off.
Old 08-03-2008, 06:40 PM
Motorized Bicycle Newbie