Chain

GoldenMotor.com

fakeplay

Jul 26, 2009
newburyport ma
Need a new chain, I'd like to use one from a reg bike, will it work ?zpt I don't wanna telln ya how it rip ed off on plum island ma. PS my fakeplay name is only my poker name.

Last edited:

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
We need a little more information but if you're asking if bicycle chain will work on a 2 stroke engine the answer is no. The kit supplied chain is referred to as #415, probably a metric version of industrial #41, which many of us use. Both of these are noticably larger than standard bike chain in width and roller spacing. I have no personal experience with it but I've heard that there is a BMX style of chain that will also fit the sprockets used on most engine kits. You'll get lots of other advice here, I'm sure, but I hope I've helped answer your original question.
Tom

Cabinfever1977

Mar 23, 2009
Upstate,NY
My dual start dual clutch kit came with 410 chain which is the same size as standard bmx chain and its also the size of my single speed cruiser bike chain.

So when i went to a bike store i picked up 2 sets of diamondback bmx chain at $10 each,one for my engine side and one for peddal side.

But we don't know if yours is 415 or 410 chain, if its 415 you may have to replace with the same thing or maybe #41. You should measure your chain and we can tell you what size you have.

taddthewadd

Mar 1, 2009
Visalia, California