Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  

Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Motorized Bicycle > Motorized Bicycle General Discussion

Motorized Bicycle General Discussion All topics regarding bicycles with engines.

Old 04-29-2010, 04:47 AM
Motorized Bicycle Member
Default New to motorized bikes.

So I have no experience with motors, but I want a motorized bike, mainly for transportation and some fun. I plan on building a bike over the next couple of days, but I'm unsure of what I should get. What would you guys recommend between a Schwinn Del Mar or a Huffy Cranbrook?

Also as far as engines go, I've read a lot of good things about thatsdax, but also whenever I google pictures of motorized bikes, a lot of them use a SkyHawk engine, so if I had to choose between a:

Grubee Skyhawk Angle Fire 80cc

or a

Which one should I go for?

Also I will probably be using this bike for some mild to moderate off-road trail use. Do you guys think that these types of cruiser bikes would work for that? If not, could you recommend me a bike that would? To be honest, I'm not a huge fan of those beach cruiser bikes, but from what I've read, they're the easiest to install an engine on. Does there exist a like, mountain bike or something of that nature that I can easily mount an engine on, that costs around the same?

I have my credit card ready to buy some stuff, I just need some good input.

Old 04-29-2010, 09:45 AM
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
Default Re: New to motorized bikes.