Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  

Sponsors



Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Motorized Bicycle > Motorized Bicycle General Discussion

Motorized Bicycle General Discussion All topics regarding bicycles with engines.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #441  
Old 01-15-2011, 12:18 PM
TexasDav's Avatar
TexasDav TexasDav is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 528
Default re: Motorized Bicycle Take a Tip...Leave a Tip

WOW So sorry for his back. Hope he heals real soon. Glad he is still alive.
__________________
Always do a pre-ride check. Make it a habit, and ride safe.
Reply With Quote
  #442  
Old 01-15-2011, 04:02 PM
5-7HEAVEN 5-7HEAVEN is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,912
Default Re: Happy Time Expansion Chamber On A GP460 Engine!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5-7HEAVEN View Post
I mounted my GP460 engine upside-down on my Scooterguy frame-mount adaptor. That left a LOT of room topside, so I installed a Happy Time expansion chamber system and ran the pipes between engine and the bike's top tube. Everything fit right in there, so I had room to install a 4-liter Happy Time fuel tank.

BTW, the exhaust bolted onto the 460 engine and fit snugly onto the bike frame. Performance-wise, it REALLY awakened this high-rpm engine.

And now it's quieter than a stock muffler.


Here's my bike:
http://motoredbikes.com/attachment.p...5&d=1294959863

Last edited by 5-7HEAVEN; 01-15-2011 at 07:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #443  
Old 01-16-2011, 12:50 PM
shellshock shellshock is offline
Motorized Bicycle Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mesa/Arizona
Posts: 11
Default re: Motorized Bicycle Take a Tip...Leave a Tip

my first engine was from bike berry and it was the cheapest motor i could get befor the Raw motors came out.. it was good at first but when I went over 30mph the bike would shake so bad my hands would go numb after 30 seconds... plus it was freezing cold out so I could not feel the break. I thought there was nothing I could do so I just put up with it.. after a year my motor starting to slow down so I just went ahead and bought a grubee! some people said I would have to place rubber from an old intertube between the motor mounts and the bike frame but I didnt waste my time. Now with the grubee motor I can get up to 45 plus mph "when I adjust the choke right" without anly vibration
Reply With Quote
  #444  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:57 PM
PurduePete's Avatar
PurduePete PurduePete is offline
Motorized Bicycle Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
Default re: Motorized Bicycle Take a Tip...Leave a Tip

While I realize that not everyone does this I would just like to recommend NOT removing the inline fuel filters. I saw a post that said a man removed his fuel filter because it kept getting clogged from rust in his tank... this is the point. The fuel filter is supposed to keep gunk from entering the engine and cause serious harm. I do not own a motorbike yet but I do have a dirt bike and have owned several and tinker on them all. While I will not say that I know it all I do believe in this.
Reply With Quote
  #445  
Old 01-20-2011, 07:49 AM
wayne z's Avatar
wayne z wayne z is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: louisiana
Posts: 1,746
Default re: Motorized Bicycle Take a Tip...Leave a Tip

Quote:
Originally Posted by shellshock View Post
my first engine was from bike berry and it was the cheapest motor i could get befor the Raw motors came out.. it was good at first but when I went over 30mph the bike would shake so bad my hands would go numb after 30 seconds... plus it was freezing cold out so I could not feel the break. I thought there was nothing I could do so I just put up with it.. after a year my motor starting to slow down so I just went ahead and bought a grubee! some people said I would have to place rubber from an old intertube between the motor mounts and the bike frame but I didnt waste my time. Now with the grubee motor I can get up to 45 plus mph "when I adjust the choke right" without anly vibration
If you have to use the choke to make it "run right" then it'd NOT running right.

The choke it there for starting and warm up. If you have to use it any other time, you're not getting the most performance from your engine. May be causing premature wear or damage with the mixture lean enough that you have to choke it to run better.
Reply With Quote
  #446  
Old 01-21-2011, 09:52 AM
bitsnpieces bitsnpieces is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Melbourne, AUS
Posts: 195
Default Re: take a tip...leave a tip...or a bunch of 'em

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikeguy Joe View Post
Don't try to use your clutch to take off.

What do you mean by using clutch to take off?

I always pedal a bit, get a bit of speed like the initial start of riding a bicycle before the actual accelerating and riding part, apply some throttle, let got of the clutch, and throttle on. I stop pedaling as soon as the throttle kicks in and I can hear it, and it'll be a low speed and then rev up quickly.

Am I doing it right or should I pedal to a higher speed before letting go of the clutch?

And how much heavier does the bike become after you put lead into the handlebars? Really want to reduce vibration, but I struggle enough as it is to lift the bike... Which I have to do when I get home to put it onto the steps to make room...
Reply With Quote
  #447  
Old 01-21-2011, 09:53 AM
DanielMaia's Avatar
DanielMaia DanielMaia is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 309
Default re: Motorized Bicycle Take a Tip...Leave a Tip

You are doing right
Reply With Quote
  #448  
Old 01-21-2011, 10:17 AM
bitsnpieces bitsnpieces is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Melbourne, AUS
Posts: 195
Default re: Motorized Bicycle Take a Tip...Leave a Tip

Okay

Still some little fine tunings to do on the bike now that I've had a good 35kms riding on it; ergh... such a busy day tomorrow.

Write up a talk, fix the bike. Boooo LOL
Reply With Quote
  #449  
Old 01-21-2011, 12:45 PM
shellshock shellshock is offline
Motorized Bicycle Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mesa/Arizona
Posts: 11
Default re: Motorized Bicycle Take a Tip...Leave a Tip

[QUOTE=wayne z;250202]If you have to use the choke to make it "run right" then it'd NOT running right.

The choke it there for starting and warm up. If you have to use it any other time, you're not getting the most performance from your engine. May be causing premature wear or damage with the mixture lean enough that you have to choke it to run better.[/QUOTE/].


im just going to adjust the carb so I dont have to use the choke for better acceleration and higher top speed. I hate trying to adjust the carb because I always have to have the motor running when i do it, and I end dameaging the screw
Reply With Quote
  #450  
Old 01-22-2011, 08:47 AM
wayne z's Avatar
wayne z wayne z is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: louisiana
Posts: 1,746
Default re: Motorized Bicycle Take a Tip...Leave a Tip

[QUOTE=shellshock;250501]
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayne z View Post
If you have to use the choke to make it "run right" then it'd NOT running right.

The choke it there for starting and warm up. If you have to use it any other time, you're not getting the most performance from your engine. May be causing premature wear or damage with the mixture lean enough that you have to choke it to run better.[/QUOTE/].


im just going to adjust the carb so I dont have to use the choke for better acceleration and higher top speed. I hate trying to adjust the carb because I always have to have the motor running when i do it, and I end dameaging the screw
What type carb do you have? The only screw adjustment on the stock carbs I know, is for idle speed.
If you need the choke to run right, sounds like running lean.
Try moving the needle clip inside the throttle slide, down a couple notches, this raises the tapered needle, allowing more fuel to richen the mixture.
Another possible cause might be the float level set too low.

Sometimes the gas caps don't vent. If it starts out running OK and starts needing choke after a few munites, try loosening the gascap.

In tank filters sometimes clog early from junk in the new tank. try draining gas into a container to make sure of no restrictons there.

The stock fuel filters don't always filter well. I've had one that you could see the element ratteling around loosely inside when running. Bad filter or no filter could result in trash blocking the carb float needle. To check this, remove float bowl and momentarily turn on fuel petcock. Fuel should dribble freely from under the carb

Last edited by wayne z; 01-22-2011 at 08:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, bicycle, motorized, repair

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
MotorBicycling.com