Something new and kinda sorta 100 years old looking

GoldenMotor.com

fishguts

Sep 7, 2010
southeastern MA
Trying to wean myself off a Volksrod forum a bit and spend more time here, shifting gears and projects.

Just put together a 26" Fito Modena Retro 7-speed and so far like it a lot. Flipped the handlebars upside down to make it look a little more old-timey. No motor for this one as it is for daily exercise.

But then I bought a Rover GT-R 26" beach bike that I plan to turn into something of a flashback to 100 years ago. It will have a MA legal 48cc four-stroke. I like the motorcycle-looking forks and I'm thinking of adding struts and painting them to match the frame. Also like the black wheels and spokes, short fenders (I might cut off the bobbed part) and the heavy upper tube "tank". I designed decals for the upper tube which I'll get a photo of when they arrive.

laff Well ... tried to post the photos but found out that since I'm a newbie I have to make three posts or more before I can link photos.

So here's #1.

fishguts

Sep 7, 2010
southeastern MA
OK, let's try some photos now that I'm an oldbie. laff

Here's that beach cruiser. I'm thinking I might be able to use the handlebars by laying them back and cutting off the upper curved section ... maybe. Also plan to set an antique saddle on a layback post.

Here's the box of goodies that arrived today. The fin cover will be painted to match the frame and if that doesn't look quite right I might remove it and the rest of the tin.

A couple more bits from my parts pile that should help with the look. I also have white rubber on the way and a fuel tank for behind the seat.

Should be fun. I'm open to suggestions.

laff

Last edited:

Tad Bit Tipsy

Jan 2, 2010
Pensacola,FL