"First" build

GoldenMotor.com

livesteamfan

Oct 24, 2009
Palmetto, FL
Well, I've been hanging out here for a little over two years and I've finally made something. In the title, first is in quotes because I've gone through a couple frames and a few engines. I started with a 2hp Briggs & Stratton, then went to a 3hp with a larger tank, and now I have a Honda GX160. It's not the greatest looking, but it gets the job done. I can cruise around town with traffic doing about 45. I don't know what the gear ratio is, but from a dead stop, if I start rolling at idle and then go to WOT, the belt will chirp and I'll accelerate past the cars that are taking off next to me. It still needs a bunch of work, but I'm quite happy with how it turned out. I have to take the engine off later to reinforce the engine mount being that the engine is twice as big as the last one, so I'll get some pictures of how it's stuck on there. In the meantime, there's this picture that I hope I attached properly.
P1100664.jpg

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
How is the belt connected to the wheel? Looks kinda fast what with that huge engine hangin there....You should fab a straight pipe to scare the neighbors!

livesteamfan

Oct 24, 2009
Palmetto, FL
I bolted to rims together; one acts as the pulley, and the other as the wheel. It will peak at about 45 mph. As for scaring the neighbors, I can't ride it where I live. I live in a 55+ mobile home park and they don't allow motorcycles. I have to walk about 5 houses down to get out of the community before I start it up.

livesteamfan

Oct 24, 2009
Palmetto, FL