Help i'm new but old timer

GoldenMotor.com

bigrskip

Jul 1, 2012
Kansas
I have a roadmaster sx sport and a univega mountain bike. Just bought a 80cc kit waiting for it to be here tomorrow. Which bike would be the easiest to assemble with the least modifications?

Sep 4, 2009
Texas
Unless you are very mechanically inclined I'd put it on the cheaper roadmaster get used to all the bugs these kits tend to breed then buy another kit for the nicer univega. Welcome to the MB site good to see another old timer here!

bigrskip

Jul 1, 2012
Kansas
thanks george n texas have plenty experience in (MAKING THINGS WORK) just don't have a lot of time anymore.......

Sep 4, 2009
Texas
Cool I'd put it on the older bike then it has more space and surely is a higher quality bike. In the MB world older is usually better.

KCvale

Feb 28, 2010
Phoenix,AZ
Lets put it this way, that $60 wally bike will probably fail before you even get the motor broke in. Just a good front shock or rear wheel is that much.

I can't tell from the pic how good the old school bike is so I will just leave you this advice, don't start with a crap bike.

One other note is there are no real 80cc motor kits despite the claims, they are 66cc.

Last edited:
Sep 4, 2009
Texas
I think they are rated at 2.5 HP they do make a lot of vibrations so the welds need to be solid which is why I say old bikes are better. Aluminum frames are not recomended neither are fenders if a fender gets caught on your front wheel it will face plant you not catipult you. Take caution and give yourself plenty of braking room as bikes aren't designed for this speed adding disk brakes is a big plus.

KCvale

Feb 28, 2010
Phoenix,AZ
thanks so that's around 4.5 hp is that correct?
Hehehe, you wish 4.5HP from a 66cc, ~3.75HP with a tuned expansion chamber and good ignition system.
The thing is that is usually plenty enough to go scary fast and still be able to stop.