do you have a speedometer

GoldenMotor.com

topdog13

Feb 13, 2011
PA
should i get a speedometer and if so is a wall mart one good or should i go to an actual bike shop for 1

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
Every bike I ride has a speedo, with a 20mph speed limit here and the cops not liking us they look for any reason to impound your motor assisted bicycle.

I have been using Walmart Schwinn speedos for years. Some work a week, some work for years. I have one that I have been using since 2007-2008.

topdog13

Feb 13, 2011
PA
ok tyvm ill buy one next time im up there but im not really liking there parking lot a truck backed over our car

biknut

Sep 28, 2010
Dallas
I've tried 2 different speedometers. The first one was wireless and I was getting some RF interference so I switched to a wired one. The wired has no problems.

I like being able to tell my speed, but it's not a huge issue. Having a odometer is useful for maintenance, and a trip meter is nice, but I don't seem to use it much. My speedo also has a clock which can be helpful.

thatsdax

Feb 22, 2008
www.thatsdax.com
I use a Schwinn wired type. I calibrate them to my GPS. They have a trip odo which I use for fuel gage. It works well. Digits are large. Can not see it at night which is a bummer. But over all a very useful device. Enjoy the ride..

professor

Oct 14, 2009
Buffalo ny area
Just bought a Schwinn at wallyw. it has horrible instructions and was finikey to get it to read but works well.
Used it to check calibration on a mechanical one and now put it on my pedal bike.
Amazing how slow I go pedaling (avg 9mph), but especially good to have a speedo on the motorbike. Seeing the speed helps me slow down.

Oh- when you get one -measure the actual MM distance your wheel goes, rather than the setting shown in the instructions.

Last edited:

James912

Apr 12, 2011
Florida