Worth the trouble? Can it be done?

GoldenMotor.com

hambro

Dec 22, 2009
Alabama
Here is a picture of a cheap chopper bike I just picked up at a flea market for $80. Was wondering if it could be motorized ( I've only done cruiser and mountain bikes so far but no choppers) and if it would even be worth it. If not I'll just sell it for $100 and be done with it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Attachments

Last edited:

hambro

Dec 22, 2009
Alabama
I've measured the motor on my other bike and I just do have clearance i'm just worried about the chain clearing the rear tire because its like three inches wide.

hambro

Dec 22, 2009
Alabama
Help me out guys, I really would like to build this bike but I have no experience with choppers, I'll turn around and sell it as soon as I build it, I would just like to have the experience of building it but I certainly can't do it without help from you all, that is if it can even be done.

Humsuckler

Jul 28, 2009
Ontario
well. as far as the rear tire....

you may need to build an offset mounting plate alike the ones used for the OCC stingray builds.

that got any gears turning?

hambro

Dec 22, 2009
Alabama
Its a single speed with coaster brake and an additional hand brake on the rear. I keep staring at it and the more I look at it the more i'm discouraged. Its going to be a very tight fit for the motor to mount if it even mounts. I'm waiting on some motors to come so I'll mock it up as soon as they get here. I don't really have tools to bend flat bar other than a vise but I'm pretty handy, I used to be a master sheet metal mechanic by trade but i'm out of that business now and just don't have access to the shop tools that I need. Can't stop thinking about it, can't wait for the motors to get here, probably tomorrow.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado