My first build.

GoldenMotor.com

Pinoyxprss

Mar 15, 2011
CA
Hi guys, I'm new to the motorized bike scene and one of my co-worker inspired me to build one so I bought a starfire kit 80cc(i think 66cc is actuall rating) and a huffy Olympia bicycle.

After reading lots of threads here, I finally finished my bike, here's some pics that I took.

I put rubber washers on all the bolts holding the fenders, It's working out really good and has ran 23 Miles so far with no problems, Checking every nuts and bolts every after run and I used loctite on everything.

It turned out pretty good, A lot of vibration when I hit 23-26MPH and can barely hold on to the handle bar, right now I can coast between 17-20 with no problem. I Put rubber on the mounts and it didn't seem to help. Any other advice?

Thanks

JD

Attachments

Last edited:

Pinoyxprss

Mar 15, 2011
CA
I just got back from riding, I forgot to mention when the engine is idling I hear a knocking sound coming from the engine, is this normal? I don't want the engine to seize.

Another thing is, is there an easier way to start engine when its cold?

Thanks
JD

poorboys bikes

Custom Bike Builder
Apr 18, 2010
wichita, ks
Welcome, the vibration may be because you've got your tensioner too tight. Make sure you have atleast a 1/2 inch of play(slack). If that doesn't help you may need to add more cushion between your front mount and frame. If that doesn't work it might just be your crank being unbalanced, I've had a couple motors that just shook the bike to death no matter what i changed! As far as a knock in idle, if its not an exhaust leak, your clutch might be barely grabbing, or you might have something worse on your hands. There's really no way to tell unless you take it to someone who knows and let them hear it in person! Hope that helps bro.

Pinoyxprss

Mar 15, 2011
CA