Question on getting started and eBay kits

GoldenMotor.com

rellikx

Oct 5, 2012
FLORIDA
Firstly, let me start of by saying that these forums are pretty awesome and have pretty much convinced me to build a mb.

Now, I am a poor college student and I do not want to make a huge investment out of this and if my motor will require more regular maintenance/replacement parts then so be it (Im fine with learning how to better repair small engines).
I have a few frames, so fitting any motor onto one of them shouldn't be a problem. For these reasons, I think I am going to go with an ebay kit but I am not sure how to tell what is a decent ebay kit from a terrible one.
Has anyone had luck recently with an ebay kit and if so, would you mind referring me to their listings?

I was originally looking at the flying horse and king's kits for around 179 USD but the ebay kits seem to be more around the 99-125 range. What does the extra 79 dollars get me besides reliability? Due to where I live and where I need to go, I would like for it to be able to go at least 25mph if not more.

so any decent ebay kits out there or at least reputable vendors?

JonnyR

May 13, 2012
ronkonkoma, new york
hi and welcome to the forum

i have a flying horse kit from bikeberry.com they are fairly good the thing is all of these engines are craps shoots you could get 3 kits from the same place same brand and all of them run different.
there seem to be less problems with the flying horse kits and you can use the stock parts in the box to use your bike without having to go buy replacement chains and other parts before trying to start it.
they come with a 415 chain and some kits come with 410 chain which breaks very easy.

ebay is a craps shoot like you wouldnt believe some have gotten a block out of them and others have gotten 5000miles out of them there garentee on them isnt always the best also

one good tip is dont use the in tank filter buy one from the auto parts or hardware store

rustycase