Build based around DAX KTMC GP50R

GoldenMotor.com

Cameron

Apr 6, 2013
Texas
Hello!

After months of scrolling through topic after topic I've decided to finally create and account and join in on the conversation. I built my first motorized bicycle from a standard 2-stroke kit on a Schwinn Point Beach. I really enjoyed the learning experience working with, and riding my bike. I've had plenty of experience with fabrication, and I got into all of this starting with my attempt to electrically motorize a bike, (including hand making a freewheel crankshaft with two gears). Sadly, my little china girl was recently stolen, on top of that, when they stole it I had recently broken it down to improve some parts including the gas tank, throttle and CDI, so this guy really screwed me over and got nothing out of it.

I've now decided to go up in build quality as I have recently come into the money to be able to make the bike I really want. I want to build around DAX's GP50R I really like the look, compact design, and what looks like high quality of the design. So... What suggestions does everyone have as far as getting a really good quality, long lasting bike, with high performance (sturdy bikes, CDIs, carbs, exhaust/expansion chambers etc...). I am considering doing my first shift kit on this build as well, but I am not set in any one direction yet, so feel free to give as much advice and direction as you would like.

Goat Herder

Gutter Rider
Apr 28, 2008
N.M.
48ccbiker I see a KTM clone right on the front page of his web sight?

Welcome to the forum Cameron! You will love this sight there is no end to the imagination here!!

From what I have heard this is a great motor. I run a Morini model that is very much like it.You can get a sweet Tomar brand after market clutch for it too. The Tomar clutch for these set ups have now become my all time favorite way to go.

Last edited:
Mar 31, 2013
RI