Loss of power all speeds

GoldenMotor.com

Richluhring

Jun 13, 2014
arizona
help, my new 66cc motorized bike has lost its power, i just ran my second tank of gas through and ran out. when i added more fuel and started it my power was all gone. i have replaced the plug, fuel/oil, cleaned carb, new fuel filter, replaced exahust, cleaned air cleaner and still absolutleyt no power. oh i even checked the float settings.. any ideas, could it be my reed valve malfuntioning? i have spent hours trying to figure this out.there are no vac leaks and it idles fine..just no power from bottom to top..only goes 10 to 15 mph if i am lucky. if i choke it it dies..im ready to pull my hair out..im a diesel mechanic and have verry little two stroke repair experience. but i do understand the workings of the motor..i also checked the head and jug gaskets. seems to be no leaks anywhere. it does sound strange and it is 4 stroking i belive but float levelis fine and its not straving for fuel i dont think.. it starts and idles fine...please help

Last edited:

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
Check for signs of debris in the cylinder, pull the head if you're not sure.

Check for some tiny debris plugging your main jet (The hole in the hexagonal post inside carb float bowl)
I'd check the carb first and go from there. You can pull the intake and look at the side of the piston through the port. The gasket is reuseable if you're careful, and easy to make a new one if you're not careful.

Richluhring

Jun 13, 2014
arizona
thank you for your reply, i have removed and cleaned that heagonal float post valve, no debris in carb. i will pull the head next. i have not looked at that yet. but will do

Richluhring

Jun 13, 2014
arizona
checked head and intake into jug..no debri anywhere...still no power.. starts and idles fine...doe anyone know where the stock reed valve is located? could this be the problem?

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011