Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  

Sponsors



Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Bicycle Motor > Motorized Bicycle Trouble Shooting

Motorized Bicycle Trouble Shooting Use this area to post problems that may arise, if you could use some help in figuring out what is wrong with your engine and what needs to be done to achieve top performance.


aye captian...we dont have enough power!!

Use this area to post problems that may arise, if you could use some help in figuring out what is wrong with your engine and what needs to be done to achieve top performance.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2013, 12:21 PM
Damian84 Damian84 is offline
Motorized Bicycle Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: morgantown wv
Posts: 10
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default aye captian...we dont have enough power!!

everyone was soo helpful last time. got all the bugs worked out....i thought. so heres whats happening. i can get her to fire up an run for a couple hundred yards, but she starts to bog in the mids and dies at WOT. BUT... when i put her on a stand with the rear wheel elevated i can run through all the power bands and she screams. I have tested all needle positions and found the one that works the best on my CNS, i think. I have found the right float position. no leaks anywhere. it just seems that the resistance of the road is boggin her down. Im only 150 lbs. why would that make such a huge difference???

I just wanna shred and ride. gota bunch of snow and i wanna try out my custom snow tires. Im tired of walkin to work.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2013, 01:35 PM
crassius crassius is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,617
Thanks: 0
Thanked 168 Times in 164 Posts
Default Re: aye captian...we dont have enough power!!

weird, might be too lean to pull the load while still going OK with no load, might be that getting it off the stand changes angle of carb or something that starves it for fuel, might even be that a tire is rubbing on something when weight is on the bike

can't give better advice than to keep trying & hope you see something that's causing it
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2013, 01:46 PM
headtrama's Avatar
headtrama headtrama is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: california
Posts: 877
Thanks: 9
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default Re: aye captian...we dont have enough power!!

Sounds lean, when it does it try turning the choke on to see if it runs better.
__________________
When in doubt grind it out ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2013, 02:07 PM
KCvale KCvale is offline
Motorized Bicycle Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Posts: 2,390
Thanks: 9
Thanked 134 Times in 110 Posts
Default Re: aye captian...we dont have enough power!!

Air leak, hopefully in the intake and not the case gaskets.
You running 25:1 gas mix? 2/3 cups 2S oil per gallon?
__________________
KC KC's Kruisers - Photos by Type - Thumbnails with Details
Lots of stuff there and you can enter and list your bikes too ;-}
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2013, 10:24 PM
Damian84 Damian84 is offline
Motorized Bicycle Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: morgantown wv
Posts: 10
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: aye captian...we dont have enough power!!

Intake is solid and vacumme tested. Im using an offset intake that i had chopped and custom welded and de-burred and using good aftermarket gaskets. carb is maybe 1 degree off level. running 24:1 ratio break in on brand new motor. where are the case gaskets again? running middle needle position seems to get it fired up and idling. maybe ill try lowering the clip one more notch and test for lean or rich variable. it just confounds me that the resistance on the tire from the road and the shift kit would cause substantial power loss.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2013, 11:08 PM
MtDandy's Avatar
MtDandy MtDandy is offline
Motorized Bicycle Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia- Melbourne
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: aye captian...we dont have enough power!!

try a 4 stroke if its power up hills u want,or pull a trailer like I have. They have enough torque to pull a ship out of the ocean. my bike @ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEoXBp3WqKE

Last edited by MtDandy; 03-06-2013 at 11:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
MotorBicycling.com