48cc in a 70cc block?

GoldenMotor.com

Norman

LORD VADER Moderator
Jan 16, 2008
pampa texas
here is what I have a dax 70cc almost new with a busted crank, bought it that way the shaft that runs the mag rotor busted off at the key way. I also have a new 48cc needle bearing BGF engine that I don't like not enough ooomhp for me. So I wonder if I can take the 48cc crank and stick it in the 70cc block? I've not measured any of it I do not know the stroke of either so anyone of you out there done or tried this? I'm guessing that the 48cc stroke will be less and the rods end might be different **** I don't know if it will even fit anywhere. this is just some wondering something to try.
Norman

Ghost0

Mar 7, 2008
Bellingham, WA
I am no expert and if I am wrong someone correct me but it is my understanding that the only difference between the 2 is the piston diameter. Same rods and cranks, only the piston size increases the cc's. But I might be all wet.

Norman

LORD VADER Moderator
Jan 16, 2008
pampa texas
I know I don't know. The biggest difference I can see right off is the dax engine cylinder studs are way larger than the bgf but that is as far as I've fooled with it I may need to go heat up the garage and start playing with it. I might just transplant the bgf crank into the dax and see if it will all fit.
I tried to machine the dax head like I did a bgf 70cc head and can't I'm having trouble with getting the head to true up in the lathe using the sparkplug hole the thing wobbles all over the place the bgf head chucked up with no problems. that figures nothing is easy when I'm playing with fire?!
I do have the dax cylinder ported nicely and kind of itching to try it out. I wanted to really boost the compression on it as well but until I can get that head to turn true on the lathe I'm not going to be able to do much with that head.
Norman

georgeknight

Sep 26, 2008
Lebanon, Mo.