Bicycles4Kids Needs Your Help

GoldenMotor.com

Pappy

Apr 19, 2009
Anderson, IN.
Hi Motorbicyclest,

Pappy here, It's been awhile since my last post on Motorbicycling.com, Ive been really busy with Bicycles4kids collecting old bikes and restoring them to give to kids who's families can't afford to buy them one, Ive been doing this for four years now, and I love it, there is nothing greater then bring a smile to a child's face when you tell her/him that you have a bike to give to them. The thing is that I do this for free, no cost to them what so ever.

The reason for this post is, I'm asking for your help, I'm 49 will be 50 this November, and Dr.Heckard my heart doctor said I can't be pedaling my bike anymore, I had a motorized bicycle, but it was stolen awhile back, I used it for towing a trailer to collect donated bikes and parts. the Anderson City Police Department gave a bike to the shop so that I can continue helping kids. My doctor said I have Carotid artery disease and if I continue biking I will have a stroke or worse.

I enjoy what I do with Bicycles4kids, its all I have, I'm not allowed to work a real job anymore and I filed for disability which can take years to go through.

I was in Chat last night seeking help with my problem, Ernst and a few of the guys suggested I put up a post asking for help, so I am.

I'm asking if there is anyone willing to donate a engine kit to Bicycles4kids so that I may continue my work, it doesn't have to be from one person, it can be parts from many to complete a hole kit, I know it sounds like I'm begging, to be truthful I am. I have around 23 families who have sign up for bikes for 2012 and I need to go around collecting all the bike parts I can find.

Will you guys please discuss this, and see if you can help me?

Thank you for taking the time to read this

David Bates (Pappy)

Last edited:

deacon

minor bike philosopher
Jan 15, 2008
north carolina