Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum  

Sponsors

Go Back   Motorized Bicycle Engine Kit Forum > Motorized Bicycle > Motorized Cruiser Bicycles

Motorized Cruiser Bicycles The beach cruiser has always been great bicycles to motorize. They just look good with a motor. Use this section to share and discuss about motorizing this classic.

Old 09-24-2016, 07:56 AM
Motorized Bicycle Member

Default 1st Time Build- Trials and Tribulations...

Hey everyone. I have been lurking for awhile just soaking in all the info and I decided to share my first experience with these motorized bikes and perhaps provide insights to some other new builder. Just to preface, I gained my sobriquet JankeyKevin as I am a bit meticulous. I purchased the kit back in May, but collected parts until August. Here are all the parts on the living room floor. Bonus- there was no yelling from the wife!

Lastly, as this is my first time, I welcome additional tips and suggestions for changes. You experienced builders have been invaluable. Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC03462.JPG (943.5 KB, 66 views)
Old 09-24-2016, 08:02 AM
Motorized Bicycle Member

Default Re: 1st Time Build- Trials and Tribulations...

I got a free mountain bike from a friend, put brakes on the thing and got it rolling. The more I looked at it, the more I didn't like it (because it was SO raggedy). I sold it, thinking that the money would cover any additional parts I needed- lol! Anyway, here's pictures of what I had vs. what I decided to go with.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC03455.JPG (931.1 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg DSC03466.JPG (957.8 KB, 47 views)
Old 09-24-2016, 08:08 AM
Motorized Bicycle Member

Of course, the cruiser needed some work, it was all out of adjustment and the whitewalls were brown. Anyway, I think, it looks good and met, much more, what I wanted to build, in my mind's eye.