Project revival

GoldenMotor.com

isaac the kid

Mar 8, 2014
Chapel Hill, NC
About a year and a half ago i set out customize my Cranbrook, and never really finished the mods (http://motorbicycling.com/showthread.php?t=41750&highlight=my+cranny+mod). Well under a different account I will now resume that build now to be a daily driver to school (i am a sophomore in high school).

the bike is a huffy cranbrook with a "jet" brand 66/80cc 2 stroke kit that's stock except for the NT speed carb. I then welded a steel tube going from the down tube to the seat tube, and welded a front engine mount plate. Other than that its just a chrome springer fork and a new plug cap.

I never got around to completely tuning to NT carb and so i need to start with that. it wont idle or go WOT without choke and with the needle clip at the richest (lowest position) setting it runs ok 1/2-3/4 throttle. It seemed obvious it needed a richer jet so i have ordered 5 different jets from SPB as i dont really have the tools to jet it myself (sizes .66, .70, .74, .78, and .82 mm). I was also planning on drilling some holes in the plastic air filter to breath more but i know this is unnecessary.

I have also had problems with the handlebars (stock cruiser) staying up as i have flipped them BTR style and it seems to have worn out the gripyness of the clamp on them, so i ordered some almost straight handlebars on amazon. lastly I wanted to be able to cruise at little lower rpm and ordered a 36t rear sprocket from bikeberry.

future updates will come on as money allows but the long term plans are:
expansion chamber
worksman front drum wheel (only a coaster brake for now)
lay back seat post
reed valve
kick stand- because of the low rider fork i can actually stand it on one of the pedals
in-frame gas tank
sprocket adapter

thanks, your thoughts will be appreciated.

Attachments

buba

Jul 2, 2010
los angeles
careful Isaac