need help deciding what engine kit to purchase

GoldenMotor.com

pontiacfieroguy

Apr 21, 2011
knoxville tn
hi im mike and i am a complete noob when it comes to bikes. i picked up a huffy savanah at the local wallyworld today and am not sure what motor and other parts will work best for me. im quite a big guy at 6'4" 350+lbs and need a motor that will pull me without too much assistance from peddaling. i only need to go about 5-10 miles at a time but there are some small hills and no bike lanes in my area. which engine and sprokets will give me the ability to small hills and get up to 25-30mph? id like to keep it under 250 if possible seeing as im broke and just need the bike so i can get out and find work

DaveC

Jul 14, 2010
Boise, ID
350 lbs +.... your asking a lot from one of these motors. Find the lowest cost motor kit you can, most of the times eBay has the cheapest and basically these motors are the same. If the bike has 26" tires your bet bet is to get a larger rear gear than stock. For your bike, if it has 26" wheels, would probably be a 50 tooth. I'm running a 56 but I have 28" tires and speed is not a factor.

I'm going to suggest a 49cc and not a 66cc because the 49's run smoother, the 66's can be a little....rough.

What I'm suggesting can be had on eBay for $155 to $170 or so, leaving you with funds for any other part you might need.

The single best aftermarket part you can get is an expansion chamber. The one from Sick Bike Parts is a good one(I have one :) )

adb140275

Aug 8, 2010
Harrison City, PA
66s have more torque, which will help. dont buy the cheapest either, these engines are not the same (though in appearance they are for the most part)

my friend had one of these and it was great.

mapbike

Mar 14, 2010
Central Area of Texas