Genesis 29er

GoldenMotor.com

Dead66

May 11, 2016
Pawleys Island
OK,
So this is my first build. ALL SUGGESTIONS< COMMENTS< AND HELP APPRECIATED!!!!

I picked up a 29" from Craigslist. Paid too much but oh well. She's definitely a grazer.

Got a Balanced 80cc coming from Ozark Cruisers. The bottom half will be black and the head will be unpainted. I already have the bike disassembled.

Considering painting it. Is that worth the effort? Will the paint job last?

Am also considering a different set of handle bars as these cause me to lean forward and I think I would rather sit upright, no?

Am considering removing the gear system, shortening the chain and turn it into a coaster. Any reason to keep the gears?

Am also wondering how to keep the two break handles and also use the clutch? Can I rig the clutch up to the gear shifter and use my thumb?

What else am I missing?

Aug 26, 2015
Overgaard AZ
I've pulled the derailur from my bike, and associated cables, picked a gear, and shortened the chain.

A dual pull lever will yank both cables at the same time, from one lever of course. Avoid the coaster brake, it isn't optimal. Yes, you want to be upright on a well sprung seat, possibly with a suspension post, so different bars will help. If your tall like me, you may need ape hangers...

Paint your frame, it's a bit of work, but pick a color and I'm sure you'll be happy. What I'm concerned with is fitment. Despite the fact it's a 29, it looks tight.

Duane from Dax motors says a 29 is too much to turn, for these motors, lots of rotating mass. I see his point, but weighted and balanced wheels and tires could help with that, I think.

Good luck buddy, and welcome!

Kioshk

Oct 21, 2012
Connecticut