My (modern) version of a Board track racer.

GoldenMotor.com

damisch

Jul 26, 2013
Sundsvall, Sweden
Hi guys, thought I would start a build thread for thoose who's interested and also cause I need a LOT of help ;) (I work as a designer so I know CAD and stuff like that but have very little experience working with steel tubing myself, I can use a lathe and know how to machine parts though).

I will probably break a lot of BTR-"rules" so be forgiving...

I will build the frame/fork from my own drawings, it will use larger diameter tubing then most similar builds. My power plant will be a tuned gx200-clone tilted upright with a torque converter, moped rear hub etc.

Here's some rendered cad-files of the frame/fork/handlebars and some process images to start with!

Hope you like it :)

Last edited:

damisch

Jul 26, 2013
Sundsvall, Sweden
More photos from the actual build so far:

A friend of mine bend the tubing for me. I've bought some rims and Maxxis Hookwork tires and I've used a mill and lathe I have access to for the dropouts and other parts.

Last edited:

damisch

Jul 26, 2013
Sundsvall, Sweden
On to my first "stupid" question. How do you guys that do not have a notching tool notch your pipes, I have a drillpress/mill but I've never notched anything with it and the angles are very steep on most of the small tubes...?

Thinking about doing something like this:

Last edited:

buba

Jul 2, 2010
los angeles
looking good

I think you have it all covered

how do they treat motored bikes in Sweden -- any legal issues????
registration, identification of vehicle, insurance or????

damisch

Jul 26, 2013
Sundsvall, Sweden
looking good

I think you have it all covered

how do they treat motored bikes in Sweden -- any legal issues????
registration, identification of vehicle, insurance or????
We have very good laws (actually one of the best most forgiving in the world) for home build cars and motorcycles. The only problem is that this