stop motion

GoldenMotor.com

anim8r

Jul 15, 2011
Michigan
I haven't been around in a while, & by coincidence the day I came back was also the day Rustycase sent me a message. He was asking about my stop-motion animation studio, which is what's been keeping me away from my bike & the boards.

I haven't actually gotten to use my studio yet. It's slowly coming together.....as it turns out, I'm a pretty crappy carpenter. But I'm always working on animation in one form or another, so I'm glad to help if anyone has any questions about this stuff. So that's what this thread is: a place for animation Q & A.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Are we talking about the kind of animation that Ray Harryhausen was famous for? Not sure about the spelling of his last name. :)

The skeleton fight scene in 'Jason and the Argonauts' comes to mind. Plus lots more classics.

Tom

rustycase

Gutter Rider
May 26, 2011
Left coast
lol

It would be GREAT fun to see a motorized bicycle video short! lol

I rarely make it through an entire full length film anymore, so short ones are btr!

Best
rc

anim8r

Jul 15, 2011
Michigan
yep, Harryhausen is a legend, & that skeleton fight is classic. I'd say he's as responsible for my love of animation as anybody else is (with Chuck Jones & Tex Avery being high on the list).
The Wallace & Grommit series is a really exceptional example of what's possible nowadays with model animation. I'd love to have a crew that large & talented at my disposal. I think i just picked up a couple of apprentices, though, so we'll see what I can do with that....

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
To be honest I didn't know anyone was still doing stop action anymore. I assumed that CGI has made the intensive labor needed for stop action cost prohibitive. I'm glad to see there are still real talents out there doing 'real' animation and not just sitting in front of a computer. Good for you and best of luck.
Tom

rustycase

Gutter Rider