Clutch problems

GoldenMotor.com

Rysher

Jun 6, 2012
toronto, canada
Hey, im new to this whole Motorized Bicycle scene and i just build my first bike yesterday, im not sure the what motor model it is (bought it off kijiji) i cannot get the clutch to engage properly. its next to impossible to peddle, when i do force it really hard i can hear the motor starting to go and if i rev it sometimes the motor starts/tries to start and i can ride it but then i have no idle...every video tutorial ive seen people hold the clutch and peddle then release the clutch and the motor starts but mine doesnt have that easy peddle start i have to basically jump on the peddle and the motor kicks in. when i hold the clutch down or if i dont it acts the exact same... what am i doing wrong?

tooljunkie

Apr 4, 2012
Manitoba,Canada
your clutch is not adjusted properly.
there is an adjustment in the clutch housing,but the cable needs to be set up first.
i'm assuming the engine you have is a chinese ht or grubee skyhawk.
a small amount of freeplay is needed at the lever on the motor.
then the youtube video demonstrates how to set up the clutch inside the motor.
it would help to see how you have the cable arranged on the engine before we get too far.

Rysher

Jun 6, 2012
toronto, canada
your clutch is not adjusted properly.
there is an adjustment in the clutch housing,but the cable needs to be set up first.
i'm assuming the engine you have is a chinese ht or grubee skyhawk.
a small amount of freeplay is needed at the lever on the motor.
then the youtube video demonstrates how to set up the clutch inside the motor.
it would help to see how you have the cable arranged on the engine before we get too far.

im pretty sure its a china motor...i just watched this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zAp8h9WRXwI and my clutch arm isnt stiff like his...mine moves very freely, basically a full 180 degrees and never has any pressure

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado