Tubeless Tires: Add your 2 cents here.

GoldenMotor.com

bigbutterbean

Jan 31, 2011
Lebanon, PA
I have no experience with that setup, but I do find it very interesting. I would use it if I could afford it. The price is probably worth it, if it works well. I just don't want to throw down $60+ to convert my $15 tires to tubeless.

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
WAY more trouble than it's worth unless you can actually feel a few ounces difference in your wheels. MUCH harder to install and service when you DO get a flat (and you WILL)
Mostly just another way to separate bicyclists from money with "New and Improved" (insert latest gimmick here)
Not better at preventing flats in a street setting.

miked826

Aug 6, 2011
Los Angeles
WAY more trouble than it's worth unless you can actually feel a few ounces difference in your wheels. MUCH harder to install and service when you DO get a flat (and you WILL)
Mostly just another way to separate bicyclists from money with "New and Improved" (insert latest gimmick here)
Not better at preventing flats in a street setting.
Yeah but repairing a hole in tubeless in painless compared to removing off a wheel out in the Styx, especially the back wheel, and installing a new tube or trying to repair one with a hole in it. It's a nightmare by yourself if your bike has fenders.

miked826

Aug 6, 2011
Los Angeles
I have no experience with that setup, but I do find it very interesting. I would use it if I could afford it. The price is probably worth it, if it works well. I just don't want to throw down $60+ to convert my $15 tires to tubeless.
$16 for the the 2 airtight valve stems and then you can use any electrical or plumbers self sealing tape and wrap your wheel to make that air tight. Of course you will need extra stiff sidewall tires in case you get a blow out cause it could get real ugly at speed if you don't. LOL

bigbutterbean

Jan 31, 2011
Lebanon, PA