About my bike...

GoldenMotor.com

UhClem

May 14, 2009
North Carolina
First off, I'm a newbie to all of this and am lovin' this site. Great info from top to bottom and a community that is very civil and generous.

My son built his first MB a few weeks ago on a Trek mountain bike and he has been turning heads all over town. I will be ordering a kit after Memorial day. My first impulse is to install it on my current bike. After hours of reading on this site I see that no one but no one is building using any skinny wheeled "racing" bikes. I am curious as to why that is.

My bike is a 1981, French built Peugeot. A UE8M if that means anything to anyone. From what I have gleaned from the web, this is a run of the mill touring bike sold during the biking craze of the seventies and early eighties. I picked it up for 40 bucks at a going out of business sale at Western Auto. It was abandoned by it's owner. It is a quality bike and has been taken care of very well. Very little rust, chrome fenders, welded rat trap, lights and generator and in excellent working order. It is a tall bike with 27 inch wheels and a 61cm seat tube. I am tall and this suites me fine.

Aside from this being a French built bike with non-standard sizes all over it, what is the downside of motorizing a bike like this? My thoughts are to add some saddle bag baskets and use it as a grocery getter here in town maybe not so much on the open road.

Thanks.

Bikeguy Joe

Godfather of Motorized Bicycles
Jan 8, 2008
up north now
Ten speeds are the same, just lower bars ect. There is nothing wrong or difficult about using one. Some builder here have used them. They are unique in that not many are built....GO FOR IT!

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado