Newbie Rebuild

GoldenMotor.com

Bilbygilby

Aug 14, 2011
Pennsylvania
Hello! I'm new to all this, and I'm hoping you can help me out. Recently, I bought a mountain bike with a blown 80cc kit already on it. Apparently, a screw or something had gotten sucked into the combustion chamber, deeply scoring the cylinder and piston. I installed a new cylinder, piston, and rings. After some messing around, I did get it running. Currently, I'm running 16:1 fuel: oil, and an NGK B-6L gapped to about .025". It idles nicely, and runs smooth up to about 15mph. Then it starts 4 stroking the rest of the way up to 25. I have the carb needle clip on the top notch. I just hit 70 miles on it today. Will the four stroking go away once the new parts get broken in? also, the book says 16:1 for first 500 km, could the rich mix be causing the four stroking, and if so, is it safe to go to 24:1 for the break in period? Thanks for any advice!

Bilbygilby

Aug 14, 2011
Pennsylvania
Alright. I switched over to 24:1. Immediately it didn't want to run. Apparently the 16:1 had fouled the plug. ran, but hesitated. Pulled the plug boot of the plug and the brass insert that the plug tip clips into stayed on top of the plug. I pulled it off and screwed it back into the boot on the end of the wire. It ran better, but started 4 stroking around 15 mph. Did that til it hit top end, around 25 mph. Then it started surging, like it was losing and gaining power. Or like the spark was cutting out and coming back. I ordered a B-4L, I'm hoping that might help?

Norman

LORD VADER Moderator
Jan 16, 2008
pampa texas
you need to adjust the main jet and needle for your elevation.
The books on these engines are off base on the fuel mix.
32 to1 is fine, I run Polan 2 stroke syn. oil at 40 to 1 and haven't had any problems.

Bilbygilby

Aug 14, 2011
Pennsylvania