is there a way you can attach a sprocket without welding?

GoldenMotor.com

sourpeach

Dec 8, 2013
pennslyvannia
Hey, me and my dad don't have a welder and I want to attach a sprocket to the back wheel, (sorry if I'm not using the right terms, I'm kind of new to motorized bikes) is there any way to attach it without welding?

ANOTHER QUESTION: what size sprocket can I attach to my back wheel? its a 22 inch ( I think, I'll double check tomorrow.)

Thanks!

Sidewinder Jerry

Dec 19, 2011
Rockwood, TN
There's several ways to attach sprockets to the rear wheel. More information is needed. Such as what kind of engine are you using? What kind of bike? Post pictures as well.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
In fact, welding the sprocket to the wheel is the worst way. Don't try it!

As Jerry said, we need a lot more information to be able to offer any advice on how to install the sprocket. Help us help you.

Tom

paintgun

Nov 17, 2013
Illinois
I'm by no means an expert. Actually fairly new myself. But I have to also vote no on the welding. In my opinion, you would probably end up cooking the hub, bearings, etc. NOT GOOD. But let's just say you were able to weld it with no problems. Later on if you wanted to change sprocket sizes you would have to grind the weld loose. This could also destroy the wheel. I would just go with the stock setup. Good luck with your build.

Greg

sourpeach

Dec 8, 2013
pennslyvannia
thanks guys! I actually don't have a engine or anything to build a motorbike, im still trying to find a good chainsaw engine at Walmart and im buying some chains at my bike shop.
What are some good motor bike kits?

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
You'd be much better off buying a motorized bicycle engine kit than trying to convert a chainsaw engine to your bike unless you have metal working skills, tools and some mechanical experience.