Morini Troubleshooting

GoldenMotor.com

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
When ever I let off the gas and start to slow down my motor makes a growling/groaning sound. Even after coming to a complete stop it will do it for a few seconds. Sometimes it's so bad I feel it in the seat and handlebars. But it does not do it all the time.

I suspect it is in the clutch but I am not sure. Anybody have any ideals?

Last edited:

GearNut

Aug 19, 2009
San Diego, Kaliforgnia
I am by no means a Morini expert, but that sounds like a bearing going bad or a poor fitting bushing allowing the shaft/part that it supports to oscillate. My first hunch would be clutch related. Again, I am no Morini pro by any stretch of my imagination.

Easy Rider

Santa Cruz Scooter Works
Jan 15, 2008
Nor*Cal
I think your motor and clutch are tight and needs to be broken in. Mine took at least 20+ hours of riding or close to 1000 miles before it started smoothing out.

GearNut

Aug 19, 2009
San Diego, Kaliforgnia
Hmmmmm..... I really do not like what I see in your video. That is a boatload of free play on the clutch drum. I wish I knew what is considered acceptable play for your Morini clutch. Some clutches are happy set up like that, but most all clutches I have worked on...... that much free play means the drum hub bushing/ needle bearing is toast.

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
Hmmmmm..... I really do not like what I see in your video. That is a boatload of free play on the clutch drum. I wish I knew what is considered acceptable play for your Morini clutch. Some clutches are happy set up like that, but most all clutches I have worked on...... that much free play means the drum hub bushing/ needle bearing is toast.
Yeah I am not sure myself and I suspect thats what I am hearing. Not having any experience with these clutches I am unsure. But I do know I dont like it.

I heard that noise the very first time I rode it, second time nothing. Third time nothing, but did it the fourth time.