Can someone please take a look at my pics...make sure all is alright

GoldenMotor.com

Dr. Bob

Jul 7, 2011
Chicago
Hey all...I'm new to the motorized bike experience, but am loving it thus far! I bought my bike recently and know very little about the engine parts, etc. I would appreciate if somebody could take a look at the pics I took, and help me locate crucial components I should know about. Also, let me know your overall impressions with how things look. I woujld greatly appreciate it! Thank you!

Attachments

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
You asked so here is some constructive criticism:

Your chain looks loose. You'll want 1/2 to 3/4" slack no more no less. Also you really need to assure that the tensioner wheel bracket is secure and can not rotate on the chain stay. That will cause you big/expensive and possibly dangerous problems.

Your clutch cable looks as if it is secured tightly to the frame in several places. That can increase clutch lever pull.

Remove and discard the small spring on your clutch cable between the end of the cable and the clutch actuator arm. It serves no useful purpose and will increase clutch lever pull.

Good luck. Have fun and ride safe.
Tom

Dr. Bob

Jul 7, 2011
Chicago
Thank you for the feedback. All feedback is welcomed, as I did not build the bike, but instead bought it already put together. I should mention that I am not really educated about all the components and the terms. so please forgive me if I ask some very basic questions. Yes, the exhaust blows right into the chain/sprocket area, what are my options for changing that?

As for the chain, where is the tension wheel bracket? I've checked everything and all seems to be secure, but sounds like I should do some work on the chain.

Any comments about the fuel line connector?

thanks again

DaveC

Jul 14, 2010
Boise, ID