Sprockets and such. Second noob post of the day!

GoldenMotor.com

RatFink608

Feb 17, 2014
Taylorsville, KY
Ok, so I've never built a chain driven bike before and I have a question concerning the sprockets on the rear wheel. How can I keep the pedals attached and functional while adding another sprocket to the back wheel for the engine to drive? If I just slap another sprocket on it, It would still pedal, but I don't want the pedals to be driven by the motor once I'm using the throttle....if that makes sense... I need some way to keep the pedals separate from the engine drive. So far, I can't think of anything that I can do to do this. Any help AT ALL will be greatly appreciated :-||

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Think of it this way. You pedal, the bike rolls and then you stop pedaling but the bike continues to roll and the pedals don't move. That's what happens with engine power. As long as the clutch is disengaged the bike will roll normally with just a little drag from the chain/sprockets and clutch cross shaft.
Either a manual or a centrifugal clutch disengeges the rear wheel from the engine. The rear hub is a free wheel design and unless you are using a shift kit there is no connection between the engine and the pedals. If you've never driven a manual transmission car then it will take a little practice to master but it will become easy quickly.

If you are installing an engine kit this thread might be in the wrong section.

Tom

Last edited:

RatFink608

Feb 17, 2014
Taylorsville, KY
Ok, thanks. I'm using a chainsaw engine, not a kit. So I can just put another sprocket on the back wheel and it shouldn't keep moving the pedals while the bike accelerates?

Theon

Jan 20, 2014
FNQ Australia
All the chainsaws that I can think of have the sprocket on the same side as the pedal drive chain, and do not have the gearing to suit, you may have a little trouble with this idea?

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado