New 2 all this and need advice please

GoldenMotor.com

i_am_jesse

Oct 21, 2009
Menomonie, Wi
Hi there, my name is Jesse and I am new to all this, but I am interested in doing a build of my own, I am a single dad of two girls, and I don't have a lot of money.... so I am wondering, what is the best and cheapest place to buy an 80 cc engine kit? (duel start? is that a good idea, or no?) and I have not gotten a bike to put the engine on yet either, I like the look of the beach cruisers, but I can't afford to spend a lot of $ on one.... I will be using this the bike as my main transportation cause I can't afford the daily costs of a conventional vehicle anymore, so then I ask, would it be best to spend the extra $ and getting like maybe a 7 speed? or is the motor enough with just a single speed bike? also how safe is it to use a pull behind passenger trailer with a motorized bicycle? where is the cheapest place to get the bike? and where is the cheapest place to get a good passenger trailer???? sorry for the 20 questions, I just don't know what to do, or where to go.....crt.

BarelyAWake

Jul 21, 2009
Maine
ThatsDax: bicycle engine kit, bike engine, bicycle engine, bicycle motor is one of the best for customer service I've ever heard of! I'd get my motor kit from him if I were you ;) Spooky Tooth: Spooky Tooth Cycles and BikeBerry: Wholesale Beach Cruisers, Chopper, Mountain, Road, Tandem, BMX FreeStle and Bicycle Engine Kits - BikeBerry.com are favorites of mine, they've treated me very well. Dual start is... somewhat problematic as your pedals might not clear, but that can be fixed if ya need to. You can get a Walmart beach cruiser for about $80, quite a few on this forum have done so successfully.

There's this one for $84 that many have built and liked;

Walmart.com: Huffy 26" Men's Huffy Cranbrook Fashion Cruiser: Bikes, Scooters & Skates

but were I to get a cruiser, I'd be a bit more tempted by this one for $129;