Best engine mounts for oversized tubes

GoldenMotor.com

Movie Mike

Jul 12, 2009
Tulsa
Hi everyone. I'm new to MBs and to this forum.

My Grubee SkyHawk 48cc arrived today. I bought a Giant SedonaST casual mountain bike rather than a cruiser. I'm a big guy: 6' 8" and 270 lbs. I think that two caliper brakes will stop me better than a coaster brake. I knew ahead of time that the Giant's seat tube and the down tube (the one that goes from the handlebars to the crank) are oversized. The stock mounts won't fit.

I'm using the steel "adapter" plate to connect the rear engine mount to the seat tube. What do you guys use to connect the front mount to the front tube? Another adapter? Something else?

Mike

Mods: I posted in the wrong spot. Move it to the "Mounting Techniques" if you think it's a better fit.

Last edited:

leftywoody

Aug 23, 2008
Lagrange Indiana
I have used this type of mount on my last build and was so glad I did If you can get some strap, steel from a farm supply store . And some muffler clamps . A drill and good drillbits , a hand metal file . And some hardened nuts and bolts from an auto parts store or a farm supply store , a Tap and die set . And if you want to rubber mount it you can use a rubber union sleeve from a hardware or farm supply store( in the PVC pipe section .)The yellow dots indicate the rubber mounting material .Red dot is for the nut and bolt that holds your new steel strap to the kits 3 holed short steel strap . Blue dots for your steel
strap . Green dots for the muffler clamp . Last picture is The front mount at the point that your strap steel is mounted to the kits small, 3 holed strap steel. That small 3 holed strap should have been included in your kit ,and the hardened 6mm bolts that bolt your new( T shaped mount) to the motor . Pic 2 is the steel strap clamped to the frame . I used 1 clamp and its doing ok. 2 clamps would be better . Let your strap be long enough to allow 2 clamps if needed .

Attachments

Last edited: