bending aluminum frames

GoldenMotor.com

Earbiter

Oct 22, 2013
Denver, Colorado
My mountain bike has a strange design for the seat stays and I am trying to put a larger sprocket on it but the chain is rubbing. So I was wondering if anyone has had success bending an aluminum frame, or are there any other methods out there? I think I may need to use a shim or two as well to move the sprocket towards the center of the wheel, but that only goes so far. I'm talking about 1/4 of an inch total that the chain needs to move.

Chainreaction

Dec 14, 2014
Tulsa OK
As a general rule it's not a great idea to bend aluminum. Steel generally handles bending well but aluminum fatigues and breaks sometimes with not much bending at all. I am no expert just personal experience. If you do you decide to bend you need to bend the opposite side too to maintain alignment. You might get away with it if its a gentle bend spread over a large area. Really need pictures to see what you have going on.

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
I simply use an old axle to hold the dropouts in the proper position and use a small car jack to spread the frame where needed for clearance. Add a couple boards to spread the loads and avoid kinking the frame tubing.
The small amount you need should be no problem at all.
But remember aluminum does not bend like steel and will work harden and crack if bent too much.
Only do it once.

Davezilla

Mar 15, 2014
San Antonio Texas
Aluminum can be bent a little, but not a lot... trying to get 1/4" bend in a 1 foot or larger span should be no problem, just don't heat the aluminum to get teh bend because these alloys are also heat treated in order to keep their hardness and strength, it's this same hardness that makes bending the aluminum a bit on the risky side. I'd say no more than about 15 to 20 degrees for a bend and keep the bend radius as loose as possible.