Roadie Build

GoldenMotor.com

metalmanipulator

May 16, 2010
orlando, fl.
Hi! I'm new at this. I have posted a couple of times but I have some questions. I tried to attach pictures to a message with no success. I could use some help. I have my bike built and rode it for the first time today. First it idled high, then it ran with the RPM's going up and down with the throttle in one position. It dosen't take throttle but just a little. My bike has the carb with the petcock on it, where should it be turned to during operation? By the way it is a 66/80cc Skyhawk engine. I tried adjusting the richness by moving the clip up and down with no real change, The clip is back in original position. While riding, fuel drips from the carb. I read in the directions how to check retainer clip on the needle valve but I havn't checked it yet.

GearNut

Aug 19, 2009
San Diego, Kaliforgnia
As for your running problems, the idle speed screw (I think) for your carb should be initially set at 3 1/2 turns out from fully turned in. I don't have that particular one on my engine so I am a bit fuzzy on it.
The surging is caused by either the float height being set too high, or there is crud between the float needle valve and needle valve seat. This would also cause the fuel drip you observed.
There also is a slight chance that the float actually has a pinhole in it and it now has fuel inside the float, preventing it from floating properly.
It could also be a horrible air leak in the carb to manifold junction or manifold to cylinder junction. I would check for that after you check out the carb and if the carb check does not help.

Last edited:

camlifter

May 4, 2009
acme labs marion ohio