? about amount of chain clearance to rear tire?

GoldenMotor.com

sylarbrodie

Mar 5, 2013
indiana
Hi everyone. I have a Schwinn road bike that looks like a mountain bike kind of. Keep in mind I'm still kind of new to all this. I just got a brand new rear wheel and tire and am having slight issues with the chain being a lil too close to my tire for my liking. I have a manic mechanic sprocket adapter for my rear sprocket which is chained to the EZ Qmatic. I would say i have about 1/4" clearance from the edge of the chain to the tire. Is that way too close or is that ok? I can take some washers and use them as spacers on the adapter to move it from the tire but then i run into the problem that the chain will now be about 1/4" from the seat post. If you guys have any ideas please share. I'm kinda freakin out a lil in the inside since i just dropped a ton of money into all of this. well..... i guess we all have... but any help would be very cool. oh.. i have a couple of ideas through alll the research i've been doing. please let me know what you think.

1. use washer to move chain away from tire.. ok cool.. check.

2. i heard that whizzer i believe cuts groves in the seat post to allow a little more clearance. has anyone heard about that? and would that be a good or bad idea?

3. some people said they would create an aluminum plate to protect tire.

4. or i'm thinking just buy a brand new frame so i have clearance no matter what.. but that entails a lot more money AHHHHHH!!!!!!

5. i have an arch chain tensioner.. so can i have the wheel of the tensioner pushing down on the top part of the chain since i have tons of room on the lowest part of the seat post area.

Thank you all for your time.

Brodie

CTripps

Aug 22, 2011
Vancouver, B.C.
I don't know what engine you're using, so it's hard to think of possible solutions for your problems. If you can post a pic of the frame it will help, too.