Swamp worthy electric bike?

GoldenMotor.com

HatchieLuvr

Aug 21, 2012
Jackson, TN
Hello folks, I'm a newbie here and first let me say that I'm ASTONISHED what is possible and what I've seen members do here in the few minutes I've been surfing this site!

I've been looking for something to transport myself and others back and forth across my 625acre west TN farm during hunting season. I have 4 wheelers, electric carts and 4x4 trucks but for various reason they just aren't "getting it done" in my "swamp". My requirement is that the equipment be SILENT so electric is all I've found to work. But, being a riverbottom that floods and is all mud, the place is **** on electric golf carts (even the "jacked up redneck carts" built expressly for such). I have decent roads but as I said they are very muddy from Nov-Feb. I also have a need for occasional driving through water as deep as 3ft deep with most waterholes being 6"-2ft deep.

I've seen the "electric hub motors" but assume the waterholes would make those not an option?

I see most motors are built or placed inside the bike frames where the pedal hubs are/were located. I'm curious and am thinking could a motor be placed above the rear tire, perhaps under the rear seat so as to hold it out of the water?

Battery pack wise, I'm not opposed to buying the fairly expensive lithium-ion packs I've seen if they save weight and increase capability. I'm not traveling large distances and don't really care about top speed. 1-2 miles in the morning and the same in the afternoon would be FINE and speeds of 10ish mph is more than enough (I realize bikes and true mudholes make for a slippery & cautious combo so I'm in no big hurry topend wise.) I just wonder how much "mudding ability" such a creation has? I realize it won't be my Honda 4x4 with swamp tires but I'm curious if some dirtbike sized (width) tires could be incorporated to aid in "floatation"?

Any ideas of what kind of power such a creation would need?

Thanks, dnut
HL